Earth logo

Would a Scarlet Macaw Survive a Cold Winter?

Let’s ask them!

By SoomimuuPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

How would our favorite neotropical parrot, the Scarlet Macaw, survive in a cold winter? I had the honor of interviewing various members of the Macaw family. Enjoy their valuable insight below.

I know you Macaws like your rainforests, and I would never dream of taking you away from your true home, the Amazon Rainforest. That’s where you belong, after all.

However…

I’m curious about how you’d feel about a cold, snowy winter. Imagine frost on your feathers, heat escaping in a cloud from your beak, and your own cute little footprints in the snow. Do you think you’d like it?

Macawful: “It truly sounds quite horrendous. The hat is rather uncomfortable. The scarf is suffocating. And don’t even get me started on these boots. These were made for HUMAN feet. Do I look like a human to you? I am a far superior species. Now take these winter garments off me before you feel the wrath of my bill.”

Maclawful: “As long as we’re safe and following rules and regulations, I don’t see how we can go wrong.

Well..we do tend to survive better in warmer climates... On the other hand, many of our threats probably won’t be around to hunt us! I mean, I know I would rather do without the snakes, jaguars, and monkeys who are always trying to snack on me.

But if they aren’t there, let’s be honest I probably wouldn’t be either. Unfortunately, we do tend to thrive in similar environments..

Maybe a friendly visit to a cold winter destination would be fun, though! As long as I can access a manuscript of the laws of the land before the visit. I don’t think I’d last long in prison.”

Macjokester: “NO SWEAT. Get it? Because it’s cold...I wouldn’t sweat it. No but seriously I’ve been dying to get out and do some bike tricks on the slopes. And if I get stuck somewhere I can just fly away. Why are the other Macaws so scared about it? It’s just snow!”

So I’m gathering that, for the most part (besides you Macjokester) you would prefer to stay in your natural habitat, near warmer climates and rainforests. Where you can comfortably mate for life and eat clay from riverbanks together, right?

Speaking of mating for life, what is that like for you birds? Us humans have enough of a hard time with mating for life, let me not even get into what our divorce rate is as a species. How do YOU guys do it?

Macartist: “Firstly, you have depicted our kind as mere “birds” and I take offense to this. We are the Scarlet Macaw. Please respect the title.

Second, the heart of the Scarlet Macaw is even more colorful than my very feathers. The heart is ever changing, ever flowing into something bigger, something stronger. There is no pigment to accurately portray an emotion such as love.

Who can explain such things? Who can quantify them? We mate for life because we are stronger in pairs, stronger together than we are apart. I scoff at you humans who take us for pets and leave us alone in your filthy homes for eight hours everyday. While you earn your wages, we are meant to stay trapped in a dungeon of half eaten pizzas and dirty laundry?

No, the Scarlet Macaw is strongest as a unit. Our hearts know this, it is time the human heart learns this as well.”

Macamazon: “Macartist pretty much hit the nail on the head. Though we are the largest member of the parrot family (we grow up to 36 inches long, 2.2 pounds heavy, and live up to 80 years) we are even more likely to survive with a partner. And even more likely with a family.

So much so that macaws who are left alone for too long will start to develop nervous habits like plucking out their beautiful feathers! Ultimately, our home is the best place for us to be. Whether that is Mexico, Peru, Bolivia, Trinidad, or Brazil!

Well, I'd like to say a huge thank you to the wonderful Macaw family: Macawful, Maclawful, Macjokester, Macartist, and Macamazon. Your answers were truly illuminating. Your species is quite an astounding one.

And beautiful. Exceedingly beautiful.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Soomimuu

I write stories, poetry, prose, and other forms of musings and ramblings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.