Earth logo

Why we Need the Right to Repair

Being able to fix stuff, an important concept and now US law, is dear to my heart and toolbox - and my pocket too - but it also makes good sense

By James MarineroPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Image credit: https://pixabay.com/users/wir_sind_klein-6630807/

I live on a boat and when you do that you become very aware of the need to be able to fix things. Yes, I know most people are not at sea but that’s hardly the point.

For me, it’s very hard to throw any broken hardware away even if I’ve replaced it with new because it’s ‘not repairable’. It just seems such a waste — and it’ll ‘come in handy one day’ for sure.

So yes, I carry a lot of junk. But I also give it away to people who appreciate it. For instance a small old broken electric generator. No parts available (economically) for the electrical side, but a fisherman in Cuba was very grateful when I gave it to him. He planned to take it apart and use the engine in his small fishing boat. Recycling is just as important as fixing.

Cuban fisherman in need of a small engine. Author picture 2017. © James Marinero

On my boat I carry umpteen spare parts when crossing oceans — and the tools to fix things too, including a welding set. I recognise that’s way beyond most people’s needs or skills but for me crossing an ocean on a boat self-sufficiency can be a life saver.

Modern hard-setting and machinable epoxy compounds are a boon to inveterate fixers like me and have got things going again on many occasions. I have dental epoxy and use it every few months as my fillings degrade.

I also carry manuals for almost all the equipment on my boat, from engine to radar set. The Web has been great in that respect as I have downloaded manuals for ‘everything’. YouTube is a great help too.

Yes, I even carry the ‘Ship Captain’s Medical Guide’ so I can fix humanity. If only. That will keep you awake nights I can tell you.

Author pic of human repair manual

And no, I don’t carry any spare body parts on my boat. Yet.

And I haven’t delivered a breech-birth baby. But I have the book…

Household appliances

Why should you have to throw away a broken TV or washing machine because it cannot be fixed — or because it’s cheaper to buy new than to fix? And because of that then repair services cease to exist.

Electronic waste — commonly referred to as e-waste — is discarded electronic devices that are no longer wanted, not functional, or obsolete. The rapid pace at which technology advances today, as well as growing consumer demand, means that many devices reach the end of their useful life after only a few years of use. As such, electronic waste is now the world’s fastest-growing waste stream…Global electronic waste generation reached a record high of 53.6 million metric tons in 2019. This was an increase of 21 percent in just five years. — Statista.com

This lack of access to repair services makes it difficult for people to fully enjoy their consumer technology products. People should be able to take advantage of the full potential that these devices hold, but unfortunately, that isn’t always possible due to their complex design, software and hardware integration, and lack of standardization.

It just doesn’t make sense to me.

But people are pressed for time and lack the skills or interest. It's just too easy replace it with a new model thanm work on maintenance. A bit like marriage I guess.

The 'Right to Repair' movement

The ‘right to repair movement’ is a grassroots campaign that seeks to promote the right of consumers to repair their own products and have access to the information and resources they need in order to do so.

Right-to-repair laws are laws that give consumers the legal right to repair their products at home, or get them repaired by a third party. These laws provide consumers with more options for how they want to spend money on their products.

Some say they also help manufacturers save money by reducing the number of warranty replacements although the laws may well lead to more expensive products.

How Right to Repair laws benefit consumers

Right to Repair Laws are set to give consumers more power over their devices. With these laws, the manufacturers will have to provide repair manuals and diagnostic tools for their products.

As a result, the consumer should be able to fix the device themselves or with the help of a third party. This will save them time, money and frustration. It will also help them maintain their devices longer which is good for the environment.

Also, of course, manufacturers will have to consider ‘repairability’ when they design products, just as they have to consider ‘usability’ and ergonomics.

How Right to Repair laws benefit communities

In the United States, they have a Right to Repair law that makes it illegal for manufacturers to refuse service, or make it difficult for consumers to repair their products. This law is important because it benefits communities in a number of ways.

Firstly, this law helps the environment by reducing the amount of waste that is created when people throw out their broken devices.

Secondly, this law helps create jobs in the community by giving people more opportunities to fix things themselves.

And finally, this law can help people save money by not having to buy new products as often.

Right to Repair laws are important because they allow consumers more control over their products and they provide benefits to communities in many ways.

However, in the commercial world there have been complaints about companies like John Deere which prevent farmers repairing their equipment- it’s all connected to the cloud.

How Right to Repair laws benefit business

I almost left this section blank, but as I’ve said above, repair businesses will flourish. And I’m sure that there will be a boom in the YouTube DIY repair video business.

Some other businesses will have to re-think their business models.

And other businesses will continue as before— there is always a market for quality items that can be repaired.

Progress

Recently, Google announced that it would be selling spare parts for people to fix their Pixel phones:

and now Apple has followed suit with special tools and spare parts soon being available to customers in the US for a limited range of products:

Image source: Apple Newsroom

The new online store offers more than 200 individual parts and tools, enabling customers who are experienced with the complexities of repairing electronic devices to complete repairs on the iPhone 12 and iPhone 13 lineups and iPhone SE (3rd generation), such as the display, battery, and camera. Later this year the program will also include manuals, parts, and tools to perform repairs on Mac computers with Apple silicon. — Apple newsroom

All in all, repairing is cheaper, better for the environment and provides a sense of satisfaction that you are not just throwing your money away. But you do have to find the time to make the repair - and that's a problem for many people.

It may lead to more expensive products and of course companies will continue to design for obsolescence. And ‘module repairability’ is another dodge — pot everything in epoxy so it can’t be taken apart.

But things are definitely improving.

The ‘right to repair’ is one part of a concept known as the circular economy and at least it’s a start.

Personal limitations

So, ‘right to repair’ is important, but so is ability.

I’ve fixed my boat’s radar, fixed my PC and laptop, fitted a new battery in a Samsung Galaxy tablet (fun), welded stuff together and repaired and cannibalised all manner of stuff.

But repairing a watch (clockwork) was just beyond me.

A man's gotta know his limitations.

What did you repair recently?

Update

John Deere has reached an agreement with US farmers.

And just this morning I've been trying to locate a special tool so that I can repair my boat's engine. I'm stuck at anchor and need a 17mm rocketsocket. Or creative ideas (I've identified 14 options so far). Such is life.

***

Canonical: This story was originally published in Medium on 14 May 2022 and has been edited slightly and updated.

SustainabilityHumanityAdvocacy

About the Creator

James Marinero

I live on a boat and write as I sail slowly around the world. Follow me for a varied story diet: true stories, humor, tech, AI, travel, geopolitics and more. I also write techno thrillers, with six to my name. More of my stories on Medium

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Hyveehuddle8 months ago

    Thank You James Marinero for this interesting stuff. https://hyveehuddle.online/

  • Isobel about a year ago

    Always the same worries since July 4 have you found a solution I tried everything and it still does not work https://www.hyveehuddle.net/

James MarineroWritten by James Marinero

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.