Earth logo

Utopia

Anna's Heart

By Debra A IrsikPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
Utopia

Sarah looked out across the cracked earth that surrounded the city. Ironic that the city was once a reflection of the name, Utopia. The drought had drug on and on. For seven years Sarah and her parents had prayed for rain. She and her mother and father watched the city turn from a prospering city to a veritable wasteland. Lost in her thoughts, Sarah did not hear her mother’s call.

“Sarah, I cannot waste my time calling for you over and over.” Her mother appeared on the worn porch where she was peering at the desolation.

“I’m sorry mom. I was lost in my thoughts. What do you need?”

Her mother peered at her. “Other than rain? I could use some help in the alleyway. The vagrants have taken all my stakes and ruined my plantings. We have to start again and will probably need to guard them at night. I do not want to be unkind or uncaring but I cannot grow what they steal before it is ready for harvest.”

“I’ll help mom. Wasting my time wishing for what was is depressing. I need to stay busy.” Sarah pushed away from the rickety rail and brushed her mother’s arm. I know how hard you try. If God is who you say He is, you will be the first to be rewarded.”

“I don’t do it for rewards Sarah. I do it to survive and help others to do the same.”

“I know Mom. I wish I was half as worthy but I long for what was. I want a world where we don’t fear that an earthquake or plague will destroy everything in a heartbeat. I did not create this and if there is any justice the heavens will open and send rain and the revolutionaries will destroy the self-prescribed pundits that control us.”

“Careful Sarah, the walls have ears. I don’t want you to end up in political prison, like Anna.”

“At least she is suffering for a purpose Mom. I am just existing and waiting for the next asteroid to fall. I want to make a difference. There is a group forming that has some promise of upsetting the government. I am going to the meeting tomorrow.”

“No. You can’t put yourself and us in danger. We can make a difference a little at a time by conserving what we have and producing enough to share.

“Maybe it’s in our hands' mom. I can’t sit back and watch my friends and family be bullied and terrorized anymore. I’m going.” Sarah swung the door open and stomped into her father.

“You’re going where?” Her father stood in the open door.

I-I ‘m going to the revolutionaries meeting at the library tonight and don’t try to stop me. I can’t just watch them destroy everything we have and continue to fill our heads with empty promises and propaganda. You said yourself that this government is responsible for most of the devastation and poverty. We can make them change. We can find better leaders and initiate better policies.”

Her father raised his brows and tipped his head back. “Do you really think we haven’t tried? Do you think me so docile and compliant that I haven’t attempted to make my voice heard? Let me tell you a story, Sarah. Come in.” He stood back and gestured for Sarah and her mother to enter. “You are old enough to know it all.”

“We were a nation of plenty, beautiful roads, tall buildings buzzing with commerce and trade. Money to buy what we needed and more. That is where the problem begins. Many people were not satisfied with having plenty. They were like the wolf that gets the taste for blood. Nothing was enough. To keep up their lifestyles they were willing to rape the land and forests. They pumped oil out of the ground and when it stopped pumping in barrels, they found ways to milk it by fracking. Earthquakes started to shake where they had never been before. Fishers opened in backyards.”

“Why didn’t the leaders stop it? Why didn’t the people intervene?” Sarah stood and waved her arms. “Who was in charge?”

“Ah, prosperity is alluring and few are strong enough to withstand its charm.” Her father motioned for her to sit. “In reflection, it is easy to see the wrong, but in the moment, it was easier to ride on the wave. There were groups that stood against the overindulgence. We could see the future being stolen from our children. We formed coalitions and organized protests but those with the money and power chose to get all they could before it all collapsed. They were warned that the earth was warming and the polar ice-caps were melting but they named it progress and evolution and turned the heads of people with new shiny cars and homes and jets to take them to exotic places. By the time they realized the sea life was endangered, coral reefs disappearing, forests not regenerating and our landfills full of plastic it was too late. The world was in crises.”

Her mother nodded. “The world woke up a little during the worldwide pandemic in 2020 but soon forgot. Hundreds died and it spread to every continent but they still would not admit that the change had to start with them. Every person has to commit to the change but we are a people of stubborn pride and ignorance. Like a child that is determined to do everything themselves, they chose to keep abusing the earth and its resources and that landed us in this mess.”

Sarah huffed, “So you’re saying there is nothing we can do? I’m just supposed to sit by and see my world implode? I can’t do that anymore. Anna tried to make a difference and she may die because of it and I won’t let that be in vain. You can’t think I would just watch it all fall apart.”

“No.” Her father shook his head. “I do not think that, but the guardsmen are watching you because you are Anna’s best friend. It won’t help anyone if you join her there. I will go to the meeting or find someone we can trust to go. We will do what we can but not without a plan. Your mother is right. It will take each of us committing to make a difference one day at a time. The earth will heal but patience is our sword and diligence our shield.”

Sarah stood, knocking her chair over in her anger. “I want to help. I want things to change. It’s not fair that I have to suffer for the mistakes of your generation.” She turned and started to her room.

“You’re right. You shouldn’t have to take on the mistakes of your predecessors but the reality is that every generation passes on its successes and its failures. Unfortunately, the earth could sustain no more brutal disregard. Anna was right to care but wrong to act without a plan. Now she is incarcerated and her heart can only continue with us. We have to carefully strive to create change.”

“Whatever.” Sarah’s shoulders sagged as she trudged to her room.

Sarah looked at her meager belongings and cursed the trouble that had been laid at her feet. “Damn, the politicians, damn the good’ ole’ boys that got us into this mess.” How could they be so stupid ignoring the signs that mother nature had readily shared? She threw herself down on her mattress on the floor. The frame had long been sacrificed for parts and firewood. Would I have seen the signs? Would I have been too comfortable in my luxury to take time to see the coming crash? She punched her flat pillow. I have to believe I wouldn’t have been so ignorant. Would I?

Frustrated with her thoughts she reached behind her mattress and pulled out a tattered notebook. The two-inch pencil was tied to it with a piece of yarn she found in the street. When she lifted it, she felt a tug, and a locket the size of a quarter flew out.

Anna’s locket. It was only the front of a locket shaped like a heart. Sarah’s breath caught; she swallowed the whimper she felt rising. Anna. Is this a sign? Dad said your heart could only continue with a careful plan and here is the heart that meant so much to you.

Sarah grasped the heart in her palm and went down the creaky stairs to the kitchen. Her father was still sitting with his hands folded on the table. He looked resolute.

Sarah held out the heart. “Here. This is Anna’s heart. If we are going to fight for change, we are going to need to remember.”

Her father grasped the charm and pulled Sarah into his arms. “We will do all we can. Together.”

Sustainability

About the Creator

Debra A Irsik

Deb Irsik has worked in the beauty industry for over twenty-five years and is the owner of Makin' Waves Salon. She is a Kansas girl and shares her life with her husband, Mike, and children John and Emily. She writes poetry and fiction.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Debra A IrsikWritten by Debra A Irsik

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.