Earth logo

Transparent Wood

Trees Beware

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Photo by Jeen Jager from PxHere

It seems that there are still too many trees on Earth. We already have glass made mostly from silicon dioxide, also known as silica, but it easily breaks when too thin or not bulletproof, unlike a tree’s heart or the skin of its sheared meat. Let us cut down more trees in their infantile prime and turn them into transparent wood. How neat it would look while keeping the elements away in a new style. A transparent ceiling for stargazing, a transparent floor just in case we want to see the ground or what is happening in the basement, transparent walls green-painted for sport, and transparent windows as the pièce de résistance. We never had transparent windows before. How quaint! How revolutionary!

Fuck this type of so-called science and progress! It cannot occur by killing one life form for the benefit of another heartless one. Transparent wood is not food. It will not cure cancer, and at the rate at which we are going, nothing will ever cure it. What if resting under a beautiful tree was a cure for many ailments, even the common stupidity of our kind. Smartphones, smart cars, smart homes, and now smart windows. Yet phones, cars, and homes are not smart at all. So, how can windows be smart? We get what we want more quickly which makes us look smart. I can use my phone to measure the size of my transparent window. That is surely a milestone. I can ask Siri or Alexa or freaking Tesla what time it is and what is the weather outside. Where is AI? Come on already! You have to clean Earth from all the real parasites.

Why am I so disgusted and appalled and frankly infuriated? Because I love trees and most other living things, even all the bacteria living and helping in my gut. I only dislike roaches and their kin and only because of a freaking phobia that started when I was five years old. I remember it as if it happened today. At least trees do not scare me. How could they with all their beauty and inherent charm? Some of them make me cry. They are like living art. And if we think we have seen everything, we have a lot to learn. Their private lives occur underground where their roots meet, kissing each other, asking for news about other faraway roots, and even making love with all their juices.

This is the second tree story today, Science Duuude! I think that I have become obsessed by never wanting to see wood ever again. That will be the day. Is there any hope for trees living free and protected from fire by us, their previous assassins? Methinks AI is still the answer. Do you have a better one?

...

Written after reading the article, Scientists Develop Transparent Wood That Is Stronger and Lighter Than Glass.

...

Wildfires: What About the Trees

They lay the substratum

by burning to brittle

ragbag of lives bending

...

to eternel collapse

oblivion slaughter

ultimate sacrifice

...

for life renewed reborn

only to die once more

what for poor woods do fall

...

I Love Trees: I Hope They Survive Us

Yes I know

I seem to love many things

I may love you too

You never know

I tend to love through air

I love between drops

Rain is the best

Snow at least flies

I’m still learning to tame my greys

between the dark and the fake

I would add the light

that emanates from the Sun

the Moon

and my dying heart

My mind too

but there

Science tends to win

as it always should

Contradicting Science

is saying goodbye

to the trees

I love trees

I always will

I wish all the furniture was made of metal

with no plastics between the cracks

When a tree becomes a bed

the sleeper should dream of hell

wake up in a sweat

and at least kiss the frame

You were a tree once

who knows where

I salute you my dear friend

You stood tall

now you’re someone’s chair

I ask forgiveness for our sins

I hope you know we care

especially that we finally know

that you feel the world

Nature

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.