Earth logo

They Say

And Other Musings

By Breanna LaMontePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
They Say
Photo by Hossein Ezzatkhah on Unsplash

They say I am a woman responsible for the life force of this earth, archaic in beauty and sinewy as a beast.

They say I am free, but my liberty was torn from me in increments, piece by piece like a pound of flesh torn from my bones.

They say the universe always has a plan which was pulled forth from the loins of my foremothers.

They say my poverty would make me humble and that the humility of that poverty was always worn so handsomely on my haggard and furrowed brow.

They say I shall not rise to the challenge of this immense consequence.

And I shall always look upon this aged face with utter disappointment just as I look upon the worn and misused earth with an ache in my gut.

They do not see me as I see me.

They see me as unsmiling and weighted by their choices.

I say I am dismayed with the turning of the tides.

But I also see myself knowing there is a kernel of hope.

And because of this, I smile.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Breanna LaMonte

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.