Earth logo

The Knocking Friend

By: J.A.F_Jess.A.Fox

By Jessica A. FoxPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
2
SEMI-FICTIONAL https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBf5Dngh5z0

At home wondering, if ever these times will change. I could read or make a fictional story; I swear COVID is taking me down a lane, I never want to visit again. I am trying to say that nothing is new, and I keep watching the same view, starting to itch, and itch, and itch for a change; that is all I can do. Not true. I could go out for a walk with all my friends, distance, we at a distance, but none of them walk. I would pass a visit, but the government says we cannot. What is this world becoming? Where will the time take me? Imagine being a social butterfly and then bearing upon a hibernating season; A season that has me feeling worse than a widow grieving. I told my voices to push me; this low is changing me in ways I do not enjoy. I thought I still needed to keep pushing myself; regardless of the amount of time and energy I did, I feel it is not enough. On my lowest of lows, I decided to turn to nature and the beauty it provides.

On a trail, I came across a bird. The bird was on the ground with a perceived broken wing. I cared for the bird until he began to fly around my home. Call me the crazy wildlife lady. Once I let the bird go, I did not see the bird for five weeks. As I questioned myself on the bird's whereabouts while talking to a friend on the phone, I slipped on water and fell down the stairs. As a result, I twisted my ankle and broke my two hips. The depression started to build up once again. I began talking to myself once more. Many would say, "you are a 40-year-old millionaire who will make a fast recovery; why are you so harsh on yourself. Why, why, and why?" I was losing hope; money cannot buy one's mental health. I started to cry during the day into the night. The first night, I heard a Knock, I check my camera, and no one was at the front door. I, therefore, looked at the back and seen no one there either. Ignoring the sound, I returned to sleep. I am woken up the following day by my hired help Loretta. As I am explaining the sounds I heard last night, the sounds began once again. We looked at the camera, and again no one is found in both the front and the back; Loretta, as a result, checks the entire home and found nothing.

In the evening, while serving me dinner, we heard the knock again; this time, Loretta says, it is a bird. I respond a bird. As I get wheeled to the window, the bird flies away. The bird continued this for a month. Loretta tried to capture him on camera many times, but the bird would fly away. After multiple attempts, Loretta finally gets a photo and video of the bird and shows me. I instantly started crying tears of joy, shouting he has returned. My bird is back. As I finish saying back, the phone rings: My Dr. is on the phone and says my X-ray can be done tomorrow afternoon, instead of a month from now. Excited, I say yes.

"I got good news," says the Dr during my visit the following day "you can start putting weight on your feet, and we believe you will be fully recovered in less than three weeks." I am filled with joy, and we all than hear a knock. We turn to see the bird at the window of my Dr's office. As my Dr. tries to scare him off, I instantly smile; the bird was seeing me off, as I did him. WOW. The closing summary is not about the things we do not see; it is about how you predict what you do.

I share this story with my family and children who are no longer home, and we make jokes about the difficulties in capturing the images and video and the perceived story behind the bird's visit. The highlight of the story is Loretta. She believed the bird knew the phone was coming out of her pocket before flying away. Knocking for the longest time and my only evidence was the mess of the beck Knocking. We are all supersized she did not break her phone in each attempt, as she would pull it out quickly to only end up recording the bird flying away. Loretta always says I had to question why I kept trying to capture a picture of a perfect video moment. Then, a tippy-toeing to the patio, zoom in and in, later, she got the video and photos they wanted. Finally, a call for celebration, they got the picture of a wildlife friend.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Jessica A. Fox

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.