Earth logo

The Friendly Fuzzy Caterpillar

Nature is full of beauty, wonders and a multitude of surprises. Meet the Saltmarsh Caterpillar... An eating pooping machine with a picky personality!

By Kristen Solack Published 3 years ago 6 min read
3
My daughter and "Spikey"

My newfound temporary friendship started a few days ago in the wee hours of the morning darkness. Upon taking my dog out to relieve himself, I noticed a dark fuzzy addition to the overgrown greenery beside my feet. Naturally intrigued with the creatures of nature, I was happy to take a closer peek while waiting for my dog to finish his outside nature call.

This big fuzzy caterpillar was unfazed by my presence; a giant to him, invading his space while he munched away on the dewy leaves. After capturing a closeup picture, I left him to enjoy his meal and retreated back inside to the comfort of my bed. While laying in bed, I couldn't resist the urge to learn about this fuzzy hungry caterpillar. Using the clear picture that I captured moments earlier, I was able to find his species online. Researching left me with a sense of comfort and vast knowledge about our little visitor. As most fuzzy caterpillars sting, leaving skin irritated, inflamed and in pain; this little fellow actually does not. An important fact for me to know, as I have two young inquisitive nature loving children.

The facts surrounding my fuzzy little friend-

He is a Saltmarsh Caterpillar. Older in his lifespan and feeding to prepare for his transition into becoming a beautiful moth. This specific species does not sting nor bite. My friendly caterpillar friend will feed on the broadleaf foliage for 3-5 weeks before spinning his own silken cocoon. I do not know how much longer my friend has before he enters the next stage of his lifecycle. I do know that caterpillars are basically eating and pooping machines. Their Frass can be found on the leaves and ground below the plants in which they are feasting on. Fun fact: Frass is caterpillar poop. It serves a high importance to our Ecosystem as it is densely rich in nutrients. Caterpillar's are considered to be a pest in gardens, however he is welcome in our yard. Living in the country allows for nature and her wonders to flourish freely.

Once my fuzzy friend moves to a protected site and spins his silken cocoon, which will be comprised of the hairs currently present on his body; he will begin to transform into the pupal stage of his lifecycle. Roughly two weeks later his metamorphosis will be complete and he will emerge from his cocoon as a beautiful moth. His forewings and hindwings will be white with black spotting, while his abdomen will be orange and tipped in white. Should 'he' actually be a 'she', then the hindwings will have a yellow-orange coloring, while her abdomen will be generally orange. Both male and female Saltmarsh Moth's have black specks on their abdomen's as well.

My fuzzy friendly caterpillar stuck around for a few days before moving on out of sight-

The sun had not yet peaked over the horizon when my alarm clock alerted me to the start of a new day. I rose out of bed, slipped on my house shoes and checked in on my two sleeping children. Shortly after, I was alerted by gentle whining at my front door, that it was time for my dog's call of nature. I put on my fluffy leopard print bathrobe and walked my dog outside to relieve himself. Standing at the entrance to our fenced in dog area, I happened to look down to find that my fuzzy little friend was still enjoying his dewy leaves. He was on the very same plant to which I found him hours earlier. Four large leaves had been devoured, leaving only the thick center veins blowing in the chilly morning breeze.

With the morning alpenglow illuminating the treetops as the rising sun slowly climbed the horizon, the cover and protection of night was fading for this fuzzy caterpillar. I left him be and went inside. Hours later, my children and husband rose from their slumbers. It was time to enjoy the fresh air outside with my family. Our daughter noticed my friendly temporary friend almost immediately. As so did one of our stray cats. Knowing that his safety was no longer certain, also that he won't harm me to pick him up to move him to a safer location. I did just that.

He didn't want to leave me until I found the right spot that he wanted-

I gently picked the fuzzy guy up and he immediately crawled up my hand onto my arm. With my daughter at my heels, we walked around our property to find a safe spot to drop him off at. Taking some pictures of him in the process as memories were being created. He allowed my daughter to pet him during this time. Generally when caterpillars are scared or startled, they curl up to be left alone. This fuzzy friendly caterpillar seemingly enjoyed the attention. Not once did he show fear of us.

We stopped at the Cedar trees and I attempted to have him crawl off of my arm into the thick foliage below the safety of the low lying untrimmed branches. He took a few steps onto the foliage then immediately retreated back and crawled right back up my arm. Our next stop was in the foliage by our Mimosa tree. Once again, he refused to enjoy his new safe spot chosen by us. We spent over an hour walking our land looking for a spot that was safe for this new friend. Each time I thought I had picked a great area, my fuzzy caterpillar decided it was not.

Sure, I could have just plucked him off of me and dropped him into any foliage then walked away, but by this point we had bonded. I felt it was best to let him crawl off of me when he was ready. My daughter had already named him Spikey and decided he will live inside with us. I was quick to explain to her that his home is outside and outside he will remain. We just had to find a spot that he liked. And eventually we did!! In the thick broad leaves of plants growing along our properties fence line. Spikey, who was actually very soft to touch, finally crawled off of my arm onto a bright green plant. He checked out his new spot and didn't come running back onto me. Relieved that he made this decision, we went on with our day.

Checking in on Spikey

For the next 3 days, Spikey stayed within two feet of the area to which he finally decided was a good new home for himself. He ate every leaf on those varying broad leafed plants. Surely enjoyed every single nibble. He stayed despite the rainy Texas weather this week. Leaving behind large amounts of Frass and thick plant veins... I can definitely see how these little critters are a pest for varying gardens and gardeners alike. Thankfully for our little Spikey, we enjoyed his presence.

This morning our daily walk to check in on our fuzzy friend ended with no signs of Spikey other than the mounds of frass and the hollow shells of eaten plant leaves. My daughter was sad. I'll admit that I too felt sad. Spikey has moved on. To where? We do not know. Maybe he is ready to spend the next two weeks completing his final lifecycle metamorphosis. Maybe a predator got to him. I hope not because he is a cool little critter. Or maybe he is just continuing on his journey to find more yummy plants to devour without his human transport. No matter what happened or where he may be, I appreciate the memories made and knowledge gained since Spikey became our temporary caterpillar friend.

Nature
3

About the Creator

Kristen Solack

Inspiring others to be a better version of themselves.

Entrepreneur making my way through life, wearing multiple hats for my family.

Passionate for all things animals, nature, health and inner wellbeing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.