Earth logo

The Barn Owl

My Adentures in Nature

By Sheila LevittPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Barn Owl
Photo by Daniel Mačura on Unsplash

As a child I lived on the outskirts of a large city in an old farmhouse that had only cold running water, and a tin bathtub that was used by everyone on Sunday night before school on Monday. As the youngest of five children I always got my bath first, and I usually needed it. I was a tomboy in a dress. I loved most animals, except for cows. I was afraid of cows! However, snakes, frogs, worms, dogs, cats, mice, (which my mother couldn't stand) and had to be hidden from her sight, crayfish, tadpoles, baby minks and birds... any form of domestic animals or wildlife were playmates; except cows.

There was an old barn in the field next to our home and my brother would tell me scary stories about the barn being haunted. For a long time that kept me from exploring the barn. However, at seven years old, and knowing my parents were thinking of moving into town, I got up the courage to investigate. It was mid spring and mom and dad were at work. I was being looked after by one of my three sisters. I snuck out to play and found myself near the barn. It was really old and somewhat decrepit, but when I peaked between the boards I could see streamers of light slanting in, showering colours in numerous directions; with dust moats floating in the air. It looked magical!

I decided the barn wasn't scary at all, and I shoved my way though the loose board. The barn was large, and there was hay and debris on the floor. Looking up I could see bales of hay peaking over the edge of the upper level, with a ladder conveniently placed for climbing. I had to walk around old barrels and abandoned equipment, but I reached the ladder. Up until that moment I was having the perfect adventure. I was enjoying the smell of the hay, the sunbeams and the silence until I took my next step.

I froze as I heard a horrid hissing sound, I turned to run and tripped over the handle of an overturned wheelbarrow. I got up to run again and I fell as my shoelace had caught on a piece of discarded metal. As I attempted to get loose the hissing got louder and came from above, as well as close by; seconds later I heard the most awful screech I'd ever heard. I covered my head with my skinny arms and lay as still as I could, my heart pounding. Slowly the noise settled down, and the hissing stopped. I peaked through my fingers and tried looking around. The adult had been a nothing but a blur to me, but as I spotted the bird perched at the edge of the hayloft my fear started to leave. It was only about a foot tall and it was an Owl, not a ghost.

I got up slowly and and inched closer to the hayloft with the owl watching me closely. Then I heard the hissing again and I looked down. About three feet away was a baby owl, sitting in a pile of loose hay and hissing at me. I sat down on the floor with my head tilted so I could watch both birds at once; remaining quiet. The adult didn't move, but the baby rustled and hissed as it settled. I had seen other owls before, but none that sounded the way these birds did. I watched until I heard my sister calling me and then snuck back home.

I new other owls hunted mice and for the entire time they were in the barn I volunteered to take the mice that were caught in the traps my dad put out in the house. We usually caught a few a week. I left the mice near the baby on the floor for a while before the parents seemed to realize that I was helping. If I stayed back I could watch as they'd take turns feeding the baby on the floor with what I gave them. It took about almost three weeks before I could handle the chick enough to climb the ladder and put it back in the nest. The parents seemed okay, although they kept an eye on me and screeched when I started up the ladder; but by then, I was used to it. One day I arrived and found the family gone. I'd had my animal adventure in the ghostly barn without anyone realizing it; but I'll never forget it. Owls have been my favourite birds ever since.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.