Earth logo

Thank-You Note

Grateful acknowledgment from a sea horse.

By EyekayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Thank-You Note
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

Dear Human Friend,

The thoughtful gift of the pink plastic companion from you gives me much happiness.

You see, I lost the love of my life a few weeks ago. I don’t know what caused her affliction. We used to hold tails together and swim with abandon.

There’s frequent talk about inhabitants in my world losing partners and family members. They too, like my love, choked up and left us alone. I was in a deep funk, much like Picasso in his blue, blue days.

The sharks once terrorized us, but I just saw one thrashing helplessly about. He had no fin, and slowly he perished right in front of my eyes. I know it's foolish, I tried to help. He had no desire to eat me, and I couldn't help feeling sad to see him lose the fight to survive.

He's not the only one.

There's mystery in the ways friends and foe in our environment perish. Perhaps you will fix this one for us, being so high on the food chain and all that jazz.

By Marcelo Cidrack on Unsplash

Gifts from the sea you take, but how well you ply us with return gifts!. You try to make our world better. These presents last forever, leaving a legacy for future generations. But the rate at which we lose partners, perhaps these gifts will last past extinction. Hopefully, you will work on our longevity issues as well.

Just last week, my friend got a huge kick going in and out of a six-circle transparent exercise machine. It brought him so much happiness, he almost stopped being crabby.

PC Flicker Image, courtesy Stefan Leijon

You see, the sea turtle wanted to imitate the little crab. It wanted the six pack, but then it got all wrapped up in that contraption. Talk about tying your knickers in a knot! Out here, we try hard to keep up with the Joneses. I mean, there are age and weight restrictions, right? I must admit, you humans think wisely before testing out equipment.

Did I tell you about this friend who did not know how to suck out of the colorful tube you call a straw? I don't get how you use different ways in calling things. It is a straw but not made of straw, but you make most of them with plastic, right? Now this pal, she shoved it up her nose, what a goose, but not a goose. She's a sea turtle too, calls herself Olive Ridley. What was she thinking? Straw up the nose, harrumph! I could've told her that it's supposed to go in the ear!

Your generous gift material endures long after you leave. Atop the food chain you may stand, but with your humble degradability, we see you’re one of us. You really care. Look this cornucopia of permanence!

PC India Times, Representative Image

The benevolence with which you spread the “forever” wealth around is peerless. There should be a stamp in your name to commemorate this quality.

Did you hear about the scoop in the coop? The bird nest had bright blue material, keeping the bird family safe.The other day, the mamma lost her man. Apparently, for reasons unknown, his abdomen exploded. The devastated bird stopped foraging food. But the wondrous material you call plastic again came to the rescue. This time, the hungry family gobbled it greedily. She’s supposed to visit anytime, I will let her know I included her in the thank-you note. She should’ve gotten here by now, but something surely must’ve held her up.

PC John Cancalosi National Geographic

My friend the hermit crab found a new belly protector. He uses a plastic bottle cap. It’s a hardy choice compared to the scattered shells he once was used to. I happily align myself to your thinking; technology does mean evolution. He says you like to take those lowly shells for yourself and replace with the invincible bottle caps. Such stewardship is a human trait. Those incessant presents come thoughtfully included with plastic wraps and gift bags. Indeed the humans are wise; they think of everything.

PC Shawn Miller supplied to news.com.au

I used to be angry. My old gal broke her promise of being forever with me. It crushed me then. I thank you for providing me an emotional crutch in my time of need. Pink and pretty, she is my tail candy with her fluffy ends. I have forgotten my loss with my new companion Pink Squeeze! I feel like Picasso in his Rosé days. Swimming together, I sing La Vie en Rose with accordion playing in my mind. I am that giddy teenager with his first love. This one will not leave me. The world is so much nicer through rose-tinted glasses. I grip her with my tail, and we dance away till the wee hours of dawn. We've become famous on social media as well. The picture of us has gone viral! Check us out.

PC Justin Hofman/Wildlife Photographer of the Year

What have you not done for us! I'm not foolish to think I'll be around forever. Long after I’m gone, my pink plastic buddy will serve another, until to serve there’s no other. Such is her eternal promise, thanks to your thoughtfulness in creating permanence in this impermanent world.

Gratefully yours,

The Once-Lonely Sea Horse.

Sustainability
2

About the Creator

Eyekay

I write because I must. I believe each one of us has the ability to propel humanity forward.

And yes, especially in these moments, Schadenfreude must not rule the web.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.