Earth logo

Sounds Of The Farm

Farm Life

By Kelly VedderPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Sounds On The Farm

The weather is a funny thing. It could be nice, warm and beautiful, then cold and rainy. Nothing could prepare anyone for this storm. We woke up to rain falling. My husband and I got out of bed and went to feed the farm animals. The rain was so cold. After I got the eggs I cooked them. While preparing breakfast, my husband went to the barn to milk the cows, so that he would have milk for his coffee and cereal. We ate breakfast together and then relaxed. Suddenly, we heard a loud banging. We looked at each other.

"What was that ?" My husband Brandon asked.

He stood up, went to the door, and looked outside. We couldn't think of what it was that could have made that sound. So, we sat down again and watched The Price is Right. Afterwards, my husband left the garage. We could still hear the banging. Brandon, my husband, thought it may be a door at the farmhouse that we are fixing-up next door to our house.

We went over and closed the back door tightly. Then I went back to the living room. Then, we heard the banging again, but this time, it was louder and shook the house. We still couldn't figure out the culprit. Brandon went back out.

He went into the garage and he realized the tin wall was shaking, and it was also shaking the windows. That was the cause of the banging! He placed a piece of plywood underneath the window and we haven’t heard the banging since.

I like real-life movies. A bad storm was approaching. You have to board up the house. We decided to take a nap. After Brandon woke from his nap, he turned on the woodstove. Then, we could hear whistling sounds. It didn't take long to figure out that it was water, falling onto the woodstove.

The next day, the rain finally stopped. The noises, however, did not stop. I was taking care of my farm animals : the cows, goats, and fainting goats. I started to hear a creaking sound. It made me feel like I was in a haunted house. It was like a scene out of “A Nightmare on Elm Street!”

I looked at my boss' cow, Rosie, and said, "We are ok". I stepped outside to investigate where the noise was coming from . This time, it was definitely the wind blowing branches up against the side of the barn. I started laughing. I felt silly. Being on a farm you hear strange noises.

I didn't grow up on a farm. My husband is more experienced with farming than I am. The storms are bad. Nothing like thunderstorms. During the storm the windows shook. In thunderstorms, you can hear the rain. The thunder is loud. With the view from the skylight, in the bedroom, the lighting looked five times worse. Especially for someone who never liked thunderstorms.

In the clear, you can hear the coyotes in the woods. Some animals you can hear in the morning. Others you can't. I don't hear our Rooster. Those cows and goats definitely can tell time. We hear them in the morning. It's music to our ears. It's good when your animals call out to you. They can't wait to see you. One reason is because they are hungry, and secondly, they love you. Goats do. During a snowstorm, you will never know what you will hear. You may hear Ice hitting, or falling off the tin roof, and the crunching of the snow under your boots, of course.

The chickens let us know when they lay eggs. The cows are always on the alert. If a calf gets out, or something is wrong, they let us know. When they birthed their baby, and when the goat had birthed their baby. So the noises are not bad. It's the learning experience of a lifetime.

Life is on the farm. You grow your food for yourself, your family, and your community. There is money or income in farming.

By: Kelly Vedder

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.