Earth logo

Signs Of Spring

February Observations

By Charlotte FayPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

When you have been stuck in for a couple of days there is nothing better than getting outside for a walk and some fresh air. It’s a time to refresh and get clear on your thoughts.

Taking time out from scrolling and enjoying the beauty around us. Noticing the small details, the pretty details, the unusual and the amazing.

It’s February and yet as the temperature doesn’t feel like it’s getting warmer there are signs of hope all around us. Like these daffodils in the park or blossom appearing on the trees. A hint of colour amongst the brown and green backdrop.

Blossom appearing on the trees 🌸

Spring sparks the idea of new beginning, fresh starts. A time for coming out of hibernation. Letting go of the winter slump and letting the light back in. Letting light back in… doesn’t that sound just glorious.

I’m not really bothered by the seasons. There is no one that I dislike more because they each have magic about them. But I can’t help but feel more optimistic when spring is arriving.

So here are my top ways to enjoy and immerse myself in spring.

1: Let in the natural light. As soon as it’s light outside I am opening the blinds and pushing back the curtains. Natural light makes everything feel so much better.

2: Filling the house with blooming plants like primroses, hyacinths and crocuses. They add colour and a lovely fragrance.

3: Getting out for fresh air and walks, fresh air is good for the mind and body which is perfect for the time of year when everything is springing to life. So get those walking shoes on and head out into nature.

4: Whenever you are in doubt a bunch of daffodils solves it. A perfect spring pick-me-up for the house or a super cute gift if you are heading to a friends for coffee.

5: Finally, I love to open the windows or head into the wilderness and listen to the wildlife. There is something so calming and magical about the birds twittering above you and the breeze singing through the trees.

We have just headed into the first half term of the year and whilst I was looking forward to a break from the school runs I do enjoy the morning walks. It allows me a chance to see what’s happening in the natural world around me. Seeing those first signs of spring and breathing in the first of the spring air.

The last few mornings have actually been lovely. We have had slower mornings without the rush and have been able to enjoy watching the morning grow brighter through the windows. We are habitual early risers, in fact it’s always dark when we wake at 5am but what has been lovely is that we snuggle down in bed and gradually light trickles in through the slats of the blinds. Black turns to mauve and mauve turns to pink and pink into blue. Another sunny day ahead for us and another bright day to bring us one step closer to spring.

As I write this it’s quiet outside. My son is playing in his room and I am sitting peacefully on my bed just listening. There is a bird twittering away alone. I used to hear several at the same time but recently less and less have been about. Even the common house sparrow is barely seen. I’m sad about this and make a mental note to order more bird seed in the hopes of coaxing them back. Unfortunately a new neighbour has two cats and I’m convinced that this could be the cause of our twittering friends making homes elsewhere. But, if I do say so myself nothing says spring than birds singing and the sun rising into the sky highlighting the daffodils and bluebells that have popped up to say hello. That’s is spring and I’m determined to bring it in properly.

——

Charlotte is a mature BSc Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Science student. You can find her on Instagram here:

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Charlotte Fay

Rambling outdoors & writing about it. Love a good adventure. Passionate about holistic wellness & the natural environment. Studying a Wildlife Ecology & Conservation Degree. I also love to write about a variety of subjects that interest me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.