Earth logo

Serenade by the Moon

- a mesmerizing night

By Chacha JaramilloPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Serenade by the Moon
Photo by Davide Sibilio on Unsplash

Just a couple more thoughts and the recommendations required to finalized my report; and I’m done! - Grace mumbled. A long deep sight of relief invaded the quiet room.

Looking through the window, she couldn’t believe how the deep blue water lake could’ve ever get all covered by snow in the winter.

This magnificent and at the same time, inviting hotel, nestled in the middle on the mountains. A hidden gem. Perfect paradise.

The scenery was incredible, it was like a match made in heaven. The deep dark blue waters seemed to be embracing this beautiful hotel, not letting it go and age.

I could see from the window some kids snd families ice skating in a safer zone close by, next to the front parking lot. Some snowmobiles and people in snowboarding down the hill were spotted. Maybe a tournament. The Winter Olympics are coming soon, great time to stay by now.

Ok, time to go downstairs to the main lobby to get informed of the extra activities. I have learned that in addition to what I saw and read when coming into the property, there was also ice fishing, free style skating and of course ice skating for beginners. I felt super excited about it. I’ve known how to roller skate. Ice skating should be nothing.

The only difference was no wheels, two each side, two front two back and the stop plugs.

I had to learn now how to ice skate, no wheels no brakes!

I felt like a kiddy going to the ice skating days at the it’s centre park.

There they used to close the water feature and reconditioned it for ice skating. The ideal for first time I’ve skating person like me.

It was time for me to face my fears. A couple of years ago, my brother went to ice skate at the city hall park. He thought it was easy since he knew how to roller skate already. A bad twist and had to be taken to the hospital. He has a metal brace on his ankle now. He broke a bone and had to use crutches for 3 months. He doesn’t want to hear or see anything related to ice skating anymore.

I was still worried- my brother broke a bone. I don’t want to. I put on the pair of skates and slowly began to move my feet, slowly foot gliding until I get some movement. This feels good. I gained some speed. I manage to stop dragging the pick. Neat. I went again, feeling more confident. I skated for a couple of hours because it got windy.

Ok - I thought time for some dinner. Learning and practicing to ice skate made me hungry.

Got some grated spicy potatoes with salad and a strawberry cheesecake.

I was lucky, a guy playing the piano made the night perfect.

Wonderful dinner. After I took a walk on the first floor, took a the souvenir stores there, got some souvenirs for the family and friends back home.

I still a couple more places to go. I wanted to ride the cable car that takes us to the resort at the top of the mountain. I could see the deep blue water again and this majestic and beautiful hotel. I sighed. This time at sunset. The orange sky competed with the bright blue of the lake. In the background, a flock of Canada Geese flew by. Perhaps on their way back to the lake near by. They also refused to leave this beautiful scenery. I could hear a grey owl calling his mate to watch the spectacular moon together.

Back at the hotel, I sat in the balcony. It was a super clear sky, no clouds. But I was lucky, there was a full moon. Super bright, I could see the dark grey marks on her. Some stars next to her I believe Mars and Venus accompanied her on this clear calm night.

I could hear the howling of the wolfs at the far distance. Perhaps calling the others to come and watch how beautiful the moon looked.

Every now and then I could hear some cars passing by and the sporadic airplane flying by. I fell envy about the people on the plane. They seemed to be closer to the moon. It look like they could touch it.

The stars shining like diamonds.

I saw a comet. Comet! Lucky me.

I made a wish.

When I opened my eyes, a cloud was covering part of the moon. It look like it had a scarf around its neck. It make laugh.

For a moment, there was a complete peaceful quietness, i comfortable at the beginning. After a couple of minutes I felt at ease. That’s when the clouds moved on and the moon showed up again.

It was a mesmerizing night I will never forget.

The next morning a trickle of the sunshine slowly touched my face. An inviting back to sleep was telling me to go back to sleep. I had to be ready to pack and join my ride back to the airport.

Signing out was quick. Concierge grabbed my luggage. I’m off to the airport.

Hopped on the plane. Maybe I’m lucky and I can get another glimpse of the mystical lake complimenting this beautiful hotel.

I had my phone ready so I could take a final glimpse of this beautiful scenery. I got lucky.

The magnificent hotel got a reflection of the sun on one or it’s windows and automatically reflected back the warm inside the plane as it turned south back to its original schedule trip. From far I could still see the hotel in the middle of the lake, the deep blue water.

Back home, I sat in my back porch. Being close to the city, the noise from the cars passing by and an ambulance reminded me I had to come back to reality, leaving behind the hotel that still stays in the frozen lake that not only reflects the beauty of the moon but also the beauty of its surrounding nature and captivating nights.

short story

About the Creator

Chacha Jaramillo

Nature, music and great food lover. Dreaming of having a blog to help people overcome life’s challenges. Born Latin-Chinese, my stories relate how resilience helps you overcome life’s obstacles.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chacha JaramilloWritten by Chacha Jaramillo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.