Earth logo

My Laptop Lifestyle

Small changes that reduce my carbon footprint.

By Greer CollinsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Pictures taken by Greer as she traveled with her hubby.

For as long as I can remember I have always loved to travel. When I was in Elementry School I lived with my brother who is two years younger than me and my mother. My father worked for Continental Airlines and was always traveling with my stepmother. He had a habit of bringing me home weird-looking money from different countries and islands. Looking at his cool scuba diving pictures and hearing stories about how he learned to hula dance in Hawaii made me dream of traveling when I got older. My Dad finally retired and bought himself a boat to live on which made me start thinking if he can fulfill his dream at the age of 74 there is no reason why I cannot at the age of 49.

So now that I know all seven of my children are safe and taken care of. I am ready to travel with my husband, living that laptop lifestyle I often dreamed of as a child. Something else that excites me about living a laptop lifestyle for the next five or so years, is that I will be able to reduce my carbon footprint and further protect the oceans.

First of all, my husband and I will give away everything we cannot carry, nothing will go in storage. Then each of us will have a backpack and one suite case weighing no more than fifty pounds in each hand. Inside those suite cases, will be seven pairs of clothes including undergarments and one change of shoes for each of us. Packing a set of small clippers for my husband to shave his facial hairs will eliminate the need to throw disposable razors in the trash. We both will pack personal hygiene products such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, hairbrush, comb, scissors, fingernail clippers, lotion, etc... My laptop computer will be in my backpack with the charger and important documents such as our birth certificates, social security cards, marriage license, passports, and tax papers. The drone with a camera on it, a professional camera with a tripod stand, and all the necessary accessories will go in a separate carrying case.

Taken by Dane Deaner on Unsplash

My husband and I agreed to replace clothes only as the seasons changed. So if we leave in the summer and have packed swimwear, shorts, and sundresses. When it is winter and we are still traveling we will take the summer clothes to the nearest thrift store and donate them. Then go to a Nike outlet and purchase matching jogging suites. If it is really cold then we will find a Burlington coat factory and get coats.

When it comes to traveling to a State we will take a Greyhound bus or Amtrak train. While we are visiting a city we will ride public transportation such as a bus, trolly, or subway. If there is no public transportation available in that area of town we will take a taxi cab. If all the stores and events are within walking distance we can rent bicycles or walk depending on the weather and hubby's health.

Taken by Hari Panicker on Unsplash

When we are staying in a hotel or resort we will make sure to unplug all electrical cords that we are not using such as TV, coffee machine, microwave, refrigerator, lamps, and blowdryer. We will also make sure that no light is left on in a room that is not being occupied. To further save on electricity we will open the curtains during the day, and if the hotel already provided candles in the room then we will use them in the evening.

As far as eating we will never buy packaged or canned food while traveling we will be purchasing locally grown fruits and veggies.

Taken by Gabriella Marino on Unsplash

While camping we will be eating fish that hubby catches, cleans, and grills. When in Louisiana we will eat crawfish that we catch ourselves. When in Pennsylvania and Maryland we will be going crabbing in spots like Patcong Creek and Matapeake State Park, route 8, Kent Island. Finally, we will refrain from eating meat and dairy because doing so can result in greenhouse gasses decreasing, which lowers our carbon footprint.

Taken by David Clode on Unsplash

As far as drinking goes we cannot forget to take along our water filters. These expensive filters will allow us to eliminate the need to through ten plastic bottles away every day. Which are 300 plastic bottles in a month just from my husband and me. Making these small changes in my life will not only make my travels cheaper, and more convenient. They will allow my husband as well as myself to lose weight and live a healthier life.

Sustainability
2

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.