Earth logo

My Beliefs About Leafs

I love the leaf and I am hearing more about some poison leaves, berries, and flowers.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
4
My Beliefs About Leafs
Photo by James Whitney on Unsplash

As a child, I was very allergic to poison ivy and poison oak. I would get that even in the winter. A bath in baking soda would help and calamine lotion saved me. I was getting to the point of allergy shots with poison ivy when it stopped. I don’t know if I was just more careful, or if I had outgrown it.

Some people will outgrow the allergy. My daughter believes she has a slight case this year but she said it has been years since she has had any sign. She would have to get shots when it would show up on her face when young. My son has some spots of poison ivy now too.

While we were all camping together my son said, “Make sure and watch for the 3-leaf poison ivy plants.” I didn’t pay much attention as I have so many allergies and I am taking allergy medication every day. They are cute little plants, but not fun if you have an allergy response.

I was taught that poison ivy can be pretty but don’t pick it as you may suffer when you do! I have known about these leaves for most of my life. Know that I don't have to worry about them for myself, I hear about them from my children.

I love the beauty of growing plants in the spring, summer, and early fall. I have to say that I love the changing colors of leaves in the fall too! That means I love leaves in most seasons. Even in the winter when there is one leaf hanging onto a branch, I will enjoy that!

My brother sent some pictures today of where they are out camping.

Hemlock is poisonous. It is in the carrot family. It now lives in almost every state in the United States. Do not eat poison hemlock. The leaves are pretty. They are poisonous also. It has been used to treat some illnesses. It is said to be one of the most toxic plants in the world.

You will not want to touch Poison Hemlock as some have gotten irritated skin from handling it. And burning it and breathing it in has caused some issues as well.

A similar plant, from the carrot family is Queen Anne’s Lace. Then there is yarrow with fern-like leaves. Yarrow has a semi-hairy stock. Queen Anne’s Lace has really, really hairy stock.

It is important to look closely to identify poisonous leaves, flowers and berries when out in nature.

My brother sent photos of both white and red baneberry. Very poisonous. Pretty leaves.

Native Americans have used baneberry leaves for the treatment of boils and skin wounds. The berries very diluted were used to treat arthritis and colds. Many leaves, flowers, and berries make good medicine but it is important to know the difference.

photo sent by my brother of red baneberry leaf and berries.

These plants are eaten by critters in the wild without any noticeable problems. It is, however, good for mankind to recognize leaves, berries, and flowers to know what we can and cannot use in our natural environment.

Learning about leaves and what is growing in my own backyard is important and thanks to my brother I am learning about poison leaves, berries, and flowers.

This story is based on: Natures Kaleidoscope: The Ever-Changing Beauty of Leaves from a prompt in Reciprocal shown below by Sahil Patel.

Below also find "Reciprocal is a Medium Publication" that gives you more reason to write for reciprocal. See the story below by Jan Sabastian.

And lastly please read the other story about Evergreen Leaves below by Elvie Lins.

If you wish to write something on this topic: Observe and describe the beauty of leaves in one of your favorite seasons. Write about why you love the leaves and what they teach you about life.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Originally published by Reciprocal in Medium.

Reciprocal

Read and write your thoughts with the supporting community.

Reciprocal

Followed by 1.1K people

Follow

Nature
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oh wow! I never knew about Hemlock, Queen Anne's Lace or Baneberry leaf. Thank you so much for sharing this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.