Earth logo

Litter Cleanup 101: How to Start Saving Our Oceans

Enough Small Waves Make a Sea of Change

By Olivia L. DobbsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
18
Litter Cleanup 101: How to Start Saving Our Oceans
Photo by Christian Van Bebber on Unsplash

We're trashing our planet- literally. Our oceans desperately need our help, and we're dumping debris like it's going out of style.

Our waterways have been transformed into garbage conveyor belts, leading the waste we produce directly into Earth's own built-in life support system.

Friends, it's time to make a change.

I couldn't stand idly watching our planet get harmed any longer. I pledged to start making whatever difference I could; I gathered supplies and dragged a friend along to a local river to start cleaning up. We planned to capture litter before it had the chance to harm our oceans; we didn't realize that it would create a chain reaction in our community.

I spent my Saturdays cleaning up my favorite nature reserve. In the process, I accidentally made waves. Here's what you need to know to make your own:

--

1. Just Do It

I waited far too long for the perfect cleanup group. I’d scour the internet for something local, only to be bummed out by empty schedules. When I finally did find a group, the one scheduled cleanup date available was right in the middle of some other plan of mine.

The best decision I've ever made was to grab a pal and independently take care of nature. The whole event was fabulous! We were able to stay out as long as we wanted to and didn’t feel bad about calling it early when both of us were sweating buckets in the afternoon sun.

If you’ve been waiting on some ideal group that never seems to come, just go for it. You don’t need matching shirts or a massive group. Even a single bag full of collected trash makes a difference. Take some advice from this dude:

2. Bring the Right Equipment

The first time I went out, I learned this lesson the hard way. I went out with only trash bags and gloves and found that I couldn't reach trash in the center of my creek! If you’re cleaning a body of water, invest in a couple of these bad boys:

Alternately, you can pick up some waders or a tall pair of rain boots so you can tromp through your local stream. I recently tried out that strategy while helping out a friend with her frog research study; I recommend it! If you’re not keen on buying new supplies, borrow a pool net from a friend. Every time I’ve gone out, I’ve wished I had one of those.

Also, don’t forget to bring water! Cleanups are tiring, and you’ll regret not bringing something to keep you going. Prepare for it like you would a hiking trip, especially if you have to hike to the area you’re cleaning!

3. Every Piece Counts

We’ve all seen the pictures of entire beaches being restored in an afternoon. Those people rock, but doing that much work isn’t the minimum! Every single piece of trash you pick up makes a difference. Even collecting a single water bottle can save an animal's life.

It's okay if your effort isn't grand enough to go viral. What matters is that you donated your time to a fantastic cause. If you don’t have 12 hours to clean up your local nature spots, an hour, 30 minutes, or even 5 minutes spent picking litter is still valid and valuable!

Note: Sharing your contribution online is a great way to get more people on board. I definitely recommend that you show off your efforts (you deserve it!).

4. Prep for Conservation Conversation

This one surprised me. Every time I’ve gone out, I’ve been asked questions and thanked by passersby. Trash cleanups get people talking! If you’re into sharing information about the environment, getting people on board with activism, or just like meeting new people and being paid attention to, this is a great way to do it!

My absolute favorite experience I’ve had so far was interacting with a young family. A five-year-old's parents pointed us out and used us as a lesson for her. She shouted “Thank you!!” at the top of her itty-bitty lungs as she passed. That day, the hard work was extra worth it because a little one discovered the value of caring for nature.

5. It’s Absolutely Worth Doing

I can’t stress this last point enough. Each piece of trash you remove is a step to a better and healthier Earth. Our planet desperately needs help; every plastic bag, every coffee cup, and every piece of Styrofoam you pick up has life-saving potential. With cleanups come numerous benefits. You’re saving local wildlife, preventing harm to animals far off in connected bodies of water, making natural areas safer for children, and keeping nature beautiful for everyone!

On top of being good for the planet and your community, it’s healthy for you too! Even though it is hard work, it’s tremendously rewarding. No matter how small in scale, it feels good to extend a helping hand to mother nature. Looking back at a spot you cleared sparks joy. To work towards something bigger than yourself is one of life’s greatest treasures.

--

Congratulations, you've officially passed Litter Cleanup 101. That's all there is to it!

You're ready to make a difference, go out there and amplify your own waves. You have the passion and the knowledge; all that's left to do is splash.

No matter what impact you make, we're in it together. Our efforts will add up.

A Small Wave- September 26th, 2020

Let's save our planet together, one bag at a time.

--

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article, tap the ♥️.

If you'd like to learn about making sustainable choices, check out Wild Green Things for Ecological Queens & Going Green Isn't Radical. Conservation is my jam. Stay tuned for more articles on ecology & sustainability!

Sustainability
18

About the Creator

Olivia L. Dobbs

Science Enthusiast, Naturalist, Dreamer, Nerd.

I crosspost my Medium articles here :)

You can find my main account on Medium: https://medium.com/@oliviadobbs13

Check out my science! -> bit.ly/DobbsEtAl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.