Earth logo

Wild Green Things for Ecological Queens

Ten Easy Product Swaps to Save the Planet

By Olivia L. DobbsPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
7
Wild Green Things for Ecological Queens
Photo by Autumn Goodman on Unsplash

So, you’ve made the pledge to help the planet. Congratulations! I dub thee an ecological queen.

But, fear not! The head that wears this crown isn't heavy.

With a bit of guidance from a friendly advisor (that's me!), your reign will be breezy.

Before you know it, your kingdom's carbon footprint will become itty-bitty. To start off your rule, consider these ten products that get this advisor’s seal of approval:

--

1. Crew Socks that Save the Planet

If you adore rocking crew socks, this one’s for you. Meet Conscious Step, a brand that makes sustainable and charitable socks. Genuinely, the socks I’ve bought from this site are my favorite in my drawer. They’re comfortable, quirky, and ethical!

Plus, there’s a ton of different charities that they partner with. You can pick your favorite animal, ecosystem, or social cause to donate to!

2. Biodegradable Tampons (& Applicators!)

Every online eco-swap list mentions getting a DivaCup. If you're nervous about making that swap (believe me, I get it), try Oi instead. Their tampons and pads are biodegradable, meaning you can help the planet without needing to radically switch up your period routine.

Oi tampons are made with cotton that is pesticide and harsh-chemical-free. Since I've made this switch, I've had less severe cramps! Turns out, some harsh chemicals like dioxin in other brands are known to worsen cramps. With Oi, I’ve had better and happier periods.

3. Tide Pods, but Make it Sustainable

Let’s be honest, detergent pods rock. For my fellow apartment dwellers, lugging a massive bottle of detergent around is the worst. Those little packets are a lifesaver.

I was heartbroken to find that laundry pods are held together by harsh plastics. Using most pods actually pollutes our ecosystem with microplastics. So, I searched for an alternative and found a brand for life.

Dropps are just like tide pods but good for the environment! Instead of a plastic coating, they use poly-vinyl alcohol, which is biodegradable and non-toxic. Using these are easy, without the environmental guilt of other brands. Plus, they have pods for dishwashers too!

4. Crunchy Toothpaste

I bought a bottle of tooth tabs for traveling abroad. I figured they’d be much better for a carry-on, but after using them for a couple months, I never want to go back to paste.

They’re not just convenient; they’re also easier! Cleaning up toothpaste off the counter is a nightmare. Using tabs completely removes this hassle. My sink has been clean as a whistle since I’ve made this swap.

5. Tree-Free T.P.

It’s time to hop on the bamboo train. Seriously, bamboo products are the best. I’ve replaced most of my disposable paper products with bamboo alternatives, and they’re fabulous. Bamboo is fantastic because it grows faster, harvests easier with fewer resources, and degrades faster than regular tree-based paper.

I’ve tried out a couple brands, and they’re all pretty good, but WhoGivesACrap is definitely my favorite. So far, they’ve been the highest quality, plus they have carbon-neutral shipping and even donate half of their profits to help give people around the world access to water!

6. A Storage Option that's the Bee's Knees

I’ve been using beeswax wrap instead of cling wrap for a couple months now, and they really are easy-peasy. The only change to my routine was washing with cold water instead of hot - the first time I washed them, I learned that lesson the hard way. Since then, it’s been a breeze! I got mine from TheGreenCompany. They had a huge sale going on, so I got these for next-to-nothing. They periodically have some outstanding deals, but it’s also pretty easy to make your own.

If you hate the idea of having to hand wash a waxy cloth, glass Tupperware is an excellent alternative. You can also try out stashers. I haven’t tried these out yet, but they’re definitely on my list!

7. Guilt-free Hair Care

When I was studying abroad, I picked up a collection of shampoo & conditioner bars. It was a long trip, and I didn’t want to worry about finding enough space for months-worth of hair product! Because of my travel hack, I accidentally got hooked. It took a bit for my hair to get used to natural products but, as soon as they did, my hair started to feel a lot healthier.

I’m a huge fan of Lush bars, but their products are very much hit-or-miss. Sometimes, the product you choose works like it was made for you. Other times, not-so-much (scope the reviews!). This swap takes a bit of sampling. Hibar and Ethique are also some excellent ones to start out with, but search for bars that are made for your hair’s specific needs - they’re out there!

8. Trash Bags that Reduce Waste

For an easy swap, go from plastic trash bags to recycled trash bags. A few months back, I tried out Grove Collaborative’s bags, and they’re super high-quality. I was drawn to them because they mentioned that they use some of their profit to pull trash out of US rivers. I kept with them for quite a while after!

Then, I decided to go a step further. I wanted my trash to be entirely plastic-free, so I swapped those for compostable bags! I came across Unni and am still using them today! Now, unless you’re feeling particularly adventurous, I’d advise against hopping straight into this brand. They biodegrade fast and need some TLC to avoid falling apart in your bin. There are some alternatives out there that compost a lot slower, but the science is iffy about their actual ecological benefit.

Note: Dog moms, this brand sells compostable doggie bags too!

9. Earth-Healing Bandages

I received a sample pack of Patch bandages from an online order. I was immediately a huge fan; there’s truly no difference between these and any other run-of-the-mill band-aid, except that they’re kind to our earth! I definitely recommend using these instead. When I run out of my current band-aid stash, I am definitely sticking to these permanently.

10. Ocean-Friendship Bracelets

Okay, I’ll admit, this last one is more of a gift idea, but I love signal boosting this brand because they're doing some great stuff for our planet. 4Ocean pulls out a pound of plastic with each purchase - I adore what they're doing!

They’re famous for their bracelets: they come in all sorts of different colors, and each one protects a different location or species! They also sell apparel, single-use alternative items, and some pretty nifty beach supplies.

For the record, switching up your gifts does count as a replacement. But, if you’re a huge fan of accessories, buy yourself a little something too.

--

Minimizing your footprint is a continual process. This list is a start but, as your humble advisor, I encourage you to keep looking!

No matter what you start out with and no matter what sticks in your lifestyle, it’s a valuable and noble effort. Stick with it and keep trying alternatives until it works for you.

Eco-friendly queen, I wish you the best on your journey to make your kingdom greener. I’m rooting for you; every little bit of change you make matters!

--

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article, tap the ♥️.

P.S. This article is unsponsored. I'm not affiliated with any of these companies, I'm just a fan!

Sustainability
7

About the Creator

Olivia L. Dobbs

Science Enthusiast, Naturalist, Dreamer, Nerd.

I crosspost my Medium articles here :)

You can find my main account on Medium: https://medium.com/@oliviadobbs13

Check out my science! -> bit.ly/DobbsEtAl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.