Earth logo

For Passing Ships

From searching for answers in the dark of space to dark of Human Flesh

By Altair Ibn La AhadPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Laying down in my bed late at night, pondering upon the meaning and the value of the breaths that are being taken, I, a common man trying to find my place in the great scheme of Destiny, opportunity and choice called Life. Like any other man of the world, I, too has been blessed with the desire to aspire and acquire what like me, many a man of the world also desire. Owing to that desire, here am I, sitting at my computer writing about a story of my life that turned my life around, that changed my view of seeing things, that shaped the course of my life and my existence to what I am today, Passing Ship they said, Well said

By Rui Xu on Unsplash

Born in a small town and being conditioned to the same traditional, cultural and religious values as many like me of that small town, I spent my early life the same as many men of the world have spent, going to school, dreaming of becoming successful, becoming a responsible and honorable man of my family as well as of society. Like many, I believed in the same ideals, in the same morals and the same fantasy of the Hollywood, a life with its antagonists and me being the protagonist. In my life the antagonist was poverty and to get my family especially my mother out of the clutches of it. At the same time, being a protagonist of my own life, I also had a dream of my own, to become someone that is remembered by the many if not the whole world, for my name to be inscribed into the books for it to be preserved for ages for generations to read. My dream of immortality, a dream of the whole mankind for ages, was and is rooted in achieving such an excellence in the field of my interest called Physics, the study of matter, energy and their mutual relationship.

By Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Inspired by Isaac Newton and driven by the desire to leave behind the same excellence and legacy as of Albert Einstein, I, with my wishful thinking thought that the world submits to the desire of the heart as they say if you truly desire something, the whole conspires to make your wish come true. But little did I know, it was the opposite of it, the whole universe conspired against it today, I have become what I never thought I would be.

By Mingwei Lim on Unsplash

I was in 8th grade when I contracted Mumps, a viral infection that causes painful swellings in the neck. At the very time, fate had it that I came across the story of a scientist Alexander Fleming, the discoverer of Penicillin. Suffering with pain and inability to swallow even a morsel of bread, I cursed as much as I could the disease I was suffering from and after reading about the humbling story of Alexander Fleming, I thought to myself, why not just rid the world of this scrooge of Mumps. Rather than wondering the galaxies in search of answers of physical phenomenon that may or may not ease the pain of a wretched soul of mine, I decided to myself that I will become a Doctor, a scientist and will find cure to the illness of Mumps. That day, I made a prayer to God that if I am to be the best in this, if I am to be one to find its cure, ease the way of mine towards it and if not suited for this kind of profession and commitment, then turn my heart away from it.

By CDC on Unsplash

Little did I know then, Mumps already had a cure, a vaccine that prevents the sever form of it to be contracted and it was not a fatal illness. So, I did found the cure and fast forwards 15 years to that eventful day, from becoming a physicist I became a physician and not only that, I took my family out of crisis, gained the honor and respect of it back. I am yet to do something extraordinary to have my name written down into the history, but I believe, whether that day will come or not, the lives I save daily by the grace of God, definitely, my name has been honored as a savior of many, The Satisfaction and the joy of curing someone illness, of getting them out of their suffering is a delight for the heart and soothing for the soul. The peace that I have felt in doing the God work is not quantifiable and the satisfaction it gives is definitely not comparable to any of the world

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Today, when I look back to those 5 fateful days of my illness, I wonder what could I have been if that did not happen, If I were not a doctor and a physicist. They say we all know deep down in ourselves what we are capable of and I believe that had I been a physicist, even though I have had my name engraved in the books of history by now, it would not have given me the satisfaction and peace that I have been blessed by God today and most importantly, the difference even a little I have made in Great scheme of things in the lives of sufferers of life is much better than any accolade that could have been.

From desiring to have it all to satisfied with something completely different, such is the affliction of us all humans. We see and perceive and we make decisions based on our short sights while fate has something completely different for us in the stores.

By benjamin lehman on Unsplash

Today! When I look back, I thank GOD, When I look Forwards, I pray to GOD and When I look in Present, I Praise God. Today, Rather than finding answers in the dark of space, I, a Doctor, am looking for different answers of different questions in dark of Human flesh and I am Grateful to God for that opportunity.

NatureScienceHumanity
Like

About the Creator

Altair Ibn La Ahad

Still in Pursuit of the Forbidden Fruit, still in dispute of what is REAL what is TRUE, Trying to PIECE TOGETHER the MIRROR of TRUTH ......

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Altair Ibn La Ahad is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.