Earth logo

Enchanted Land

by Robyn Davies Fleming

By Robyn FlemingPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

My name is Seryna Laurenz. I’m fourteen years old and traveling with my uncle, James Sutter. We are traveling in an old gas engine car because the world has gone to hell according to my uncle.

Uncle Jim says we finally destroyed the world. Sea levels have risen and submerged islands and coastal cities. The desert sands of the Mojave crawled across the Midwest making the Dustbowl years a laughing stock for anyone recording history. The North has a new Ice Age that swings further South each year.

If you were to draw a map of the US today, Tallahassee is Florida, I-95 is underwater until you reach Sumter, SC and that’s being eroded as more of the poles’ glacier melt. Areas that have land that isn’t being radically changed are being squeezed with the influx of folks fleeing the coasts and islands, rationing of food and water is everywhere. Farming zones, filtration zones, drought warnings, freeze warning, heat warnings, gas shortages. It’s crazy.

The only good thing about any of this is that I can see a brilliant night sky burning with millions of stars.

There was an earthquake in the oceanic continental divide. It caused a tsunami. My parents died in the tidal surge in Hilton Head. They had been trying to rescue my grandparents.

All I have to remember my parents is a filigreed silver heart shaped locket with gemstones set in like the points of a compass. My parents’ photos are inside and facing each other.

My father’s green eyes sparkle with soft humor. His dark auburn hair spills over his shoulders in a thick wave. He has a strong jaw line and high cheek bones. A dimple on the right side of his bright smile peeks out at me.

My mother’s sherry colored eyes dance with lights and her black hair cascades down her shoulder covering her chest. Her lips are quirked in an attempt to hold back laughter. They appear to be happy and content.

We are traveling to Kaniksu National Forest. Uncle Jim says the property is there in a valley between the borders. The troops don’t bother with the mountain valleys. People living there are ridge runners, living off the remaining wildlife and flora.

While growing up, Uncle Jim made sure I can gather edibles, make fire and build shelters. I have issues with eating meat because I can communicate with animals. I am a witch. Uncle Jim is a shapeshifter. We are descendants of the Ancients.

Uncle Jim had told me the Fae as we are known felt the earth changing. He informed me the valley is safe. The family gathered there each Litha and Samhain and made a shielding for this place. It is hidden from prying eyes of the non -magickal: organic or electronic. It is a place for the earth to continue to prosper.

I am tired of traveling. I’m impatient to see this valley. I was five when I lost my parents. I want a safe place. One where we won’t have to worry about possible raiders or gangs roaming city streets. Thinking of this, I sit up from the back seat. “Uncle Jim?”

I see his eyes, the same color as my mother’s, shift to the rearview mirror. His right eyebrow raises in acknowledgement.

“Will the shield hold? I mean…the last time we were at the valley, I was a baby.”

Uncle Jim’s lips purse. “Seryna, the family has conducted the ritual for fifteen years before you were born. Almost twenty years. The land had power in it and we added to it. It will hold.” His eyes dart to read my face. “Why do you doubt it?”

I shrug. “It was so long ago. Things are changing rapidly.”

He nods. “I understand.” Seeking to reassure me, he becomes still. I feel the air shift around me. “I can feel the shield. It holds.”

“Will you teach me how to do that?”

“I was waiting for you to get a bit older. It can be tiring to reach for the shield.” He looks back at me once more. “I think maybe it’s time to teach you that.”

I smile in answer and anticipation. He sees the smile. “Lie down and rest. Your turn to drive is coming up.”

I grin as I lie back. That's my favorite thing to do.

I wake up when the car stops and start to climb into the front seat. “My turn?”

Uncle Jim gets out and stretches. As he is stretching sideways, he says, “We’re almost there. About a day out.”

I crack a big smile. “Thank the stars!”

“C’mon out here and do some stretches. You’re going to be driving for at least the next eight hours.”

I roll my eyes. “I’m fourteen, not an old man.”

“Hey! I’m thirty-two not one of the Ancients.” He retorts.

I shake my head as I pull up my foot for a hamstring stretch.

After a couple of minutes, we are back in the car. I reach for the bag of jerky and a bottle of water. I set them in the cup holders.

Uncle Jim reaches for two jerky strips and a water as well. We eat in silence.

I finish my jerky and take a swig of the water. I grin at Uncle Jim as I start the engine. I step on the gas just as he takes a drink. Water splashes down his front.

“Hey!” he shouts. I start laughing as we speed down the road.

The stars dim and the first rays of light break the horizon. Uncle Jim is zonked behind me. I can hear him whistling through his nose. I smile and keep moving up I-90W.

My spirits rise because we are getting closer to the forest and the valley. I wonder what we’ll find in our valley. I wonder if other magickals will be there. If we can sense the earth’s dangers, would enough have made the journey to the valley?

I stop to check the maps. I’m heading in the right direction. I look back at my uncle. He looks cramped in the back seat. I can’t hold back a smile. I wonder exactly how far we are from the valley.

I close my eyes and try to quiet my mind. There is nothing. No visions. No sounds. I am too excited to enter the state I need to sound the shield.

“Why have we stopped?” my uncle calls sleepily.

“I was checking the maps. I wanted to be sure I didn’t miss our turn off.” I reply.

“Uh-huh.” Uncle Jim sits up and scrubs his face with his hands. “That’s why I could feel you sounding. Not bad for a first try, but don’t do it until I can show you the proper way. You’ll just tire yourself out for nothing. I’ll be awake by the time we near the turn off.”

He waves at me as he shifts to the opposite side of the back seat. He uses his pack to prop his head.

I put the car in gear and continue on.

As the morning turns to noon, I open the windows. Cool northern air washes through the car, cleansing it from the scents of two travelers. Uncle Jim is sleeping deeply. I keep driving and listen to the wind through the windows.

I sing softly an old song Uncle Jim taught me. He told me it was popular when he was young. I remember Uncle Jim told me how it was before. The question then was how to address climate change. I laugh at that. Apparently, whoever was in charge had waited too long.

The way the world is now. There’s no doubt about it. If I think about it much longer, I’ll get angry. I push the thoughts away. Things have a way of getting away from me when I’m upset.

Time slips by like the lines on the road under the car. Uncle Jim sits up again. “Hey, kid, how’s it going?”

I look at him from the rearview. “Ok. I’m thinking about pulling over to stretch and utilize facilities. “

Uncle Jim nods as he takes a water bottle. He pours a palmful of water and splashes it on his face.

I pull over and step out of the car. I high knee around the front of the car toward some bushes on the side of the road.

Uncle Jim wanders a few feet away from me and heads further into the bushes. He turns his back to me.

We both head back to the car. “Are you hungry, Seryna?” Uncle Jim asks as he reaches into the car. He holds up a packet of tuna and crackers to me.

I take them from him and tear into the tuna. “Are we near the turn off?”

Uncle Jim nods. “I’ll drive the rest of the way. Once we stop again, we’ll have to hike to the valley. Well, you can ride into the valley with the packs.”

I smile. Uncle Jim turns into a most handsome roan. He let me ride as a child and taught me how to care for horses.

We get back into the car. Uncle Jim starts the car and we drive through until dusk.

The turn off comes and Uncle Jim drives the rest of the way to a hiking trail.

“Do you need to rest, Uncle Jim?” Shapeshifting tires him.

He shakes his head and walks into the bushes. He drapes his clothes on the bushes. I take the packs from the car along with saddle bags and a saddle.

When I turn around a beautiful roan is coming out of the bushes. I smile and remove his clothes from the bushes. I fold them and put them into the packs.

I put the saddle on Uncle Jim. He turns his head to watch me. He tosses his head as I cinch the saddle. Be careful, Seryna.

“Too tight?” A short whinny answers me. I loosen the cinch just a bit. “Better?” He tosses his head again.

I tie the packs and saddle bags onto Uncle Jim. I get on his back and he begins to trot down the trail.

I don’t have to do anything really. Uncle Jim knows the way. I just settle myself into the saddle and enjoy the scenery.

“How much farther, Uncle Jim?” I ask as the sky begins to turn violet. Purple shadows form from the trees. Uncle Jim breaks into a gallop and I lean over his neck to avoid the branches.

He comes to a stop at the top of a rise. I look down into the valley. Tears fill my eyes. The valley is beautiful. A small creek runs through it and some cabins run up the sides of the bowl. I can see people entering tents.

I hear Uncle Jim’s voice in my head. You thought we’d be alone? You could’ve asked, Seryna. We will be safe here. You will have a life here.

I ask him, Will we be able to help the rest of the world?

Maybe, Seryna, if they want to change, to live knowing they belong to the earth and not the other way around.

End

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.