Earth logo

Depths of The Sea

Nothingness is in sight, yet everything can be

By Sharing RandomlyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Depths of The Sea
Photo by Silas Baisch on Unsplash

Walking by the shore

The water is taunting

It's calling you

You get in

There is a point where you have to swim

Swim to go further

You had observed every step you took

Now every paddle

You go further

The light blue of the water…

Is now obscure

You start to wonder

Now, you can only see your feet

You hesitate to dive in to investigate more

But you decide to do so

You prepare yourself for the dive

You take a long and deep breath

Down you go

Your ears start to warn you

You decide to stay there

You can only take a quick glance before coming back up

You can see corals that are miles away

Life beneath the surface

You start to wonder

What else is there?

Am I missing something else?

You now feel so small

Yet so peaceful

You are now a part of the ocean

Part of something even bigger

Even if it’s just for a moment.

By Karl Fredrickson on Unsplash

Have you ever wondered what lays beneath the surface of the ocean? Do you know what inspired this poem?

I’ve always loved to swim in the ocean and my family and I have had the opportunity to go to the beach so many times now I’ve lost count. My sister and I have always been avid swimmers so navigating the seas was really appreciated. It has always been a joyful experience yet...

We have had wonderful times but also horrific ones. The ocean can be so deceiving. Sometimes you have tranquil waters but on the other, you have great waves that can be so threatening. The ocean's mood can change so quickly.

Alongside the state of the water and its allowance to enter them… the vastness is also what amazes me. There are some beaches where you can walk on the sand base for miles yet others within some short distance, have to start swimming instantly.

On one occasion, I was looking down at the bottom of the ocean, when I saw something move. Don’t know why but I got immediately scared. We have already encountered stingrays, jellyfish, and other creatures but this one was odd. I just floated there to see what it was but couldn't dive in, I was too scared. Mystery and curiosity were showing but it felt strange.

This was the first time I felt like this. I had swum far away from the others so I just started to swim back to them. I’ll never know what it was. But the fear still lingered. Maybe a survival fear came upon me? I’ll never know.

Yet I still love to swim in deep waters, but now I wonder…

Just to put in perspective the never-ending mystery of the sea…here are some quick facts.

  • We already know more about Mars than we do about our oceans.
  • There are areas in which scientists have not been able to study because of the gruesome environmental characteristics.
  • It’s estimated that 95% of the Earth’s living world is beneath the ocean’s surface.
  • The mystery of the sea and its creatures have been the main characters of so many folklore stories.
  • The deepest part of the ocean, known to mankind, is called the Challenger Deep which is 36, 200 feet deep.

These are only some facts that I find interesting. They can demonstrate that we are only a pinch of the world, there are many more things yet to be discovered. The mystery of the ocean is too vast. I hope that one day, we can get to learn more about it.

As a reference, I used the following website:

https://oceanservice.noaa.gov/facts/oceandepth.html

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sharing Randomly

Just a normal woman with lots to share. I write about art, mental health, entrepreneurship, and lots more.

Support me: https://ko-fi.com/sharingrandomly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.