Earth logo

Chasing the Butterflies

My Butterfly Effect

By Kayla Lynn WaksmonskiPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Photo taken by Kayla Lynn Waksmonski

Growing up, I had also chased the butterflies. And as I get older, the more the grab my attention.

     When I was probably 5 or 6 my mom had some bright morning glories and tulips planted in the yard, that always grew my attention. That's when I learned that butterflies liked the bright colors and the sweets that came from the flowers.

     As I got older, I had been told more and more how butterflies were connected to the spirit world. As saying the same, if a loved one passes, if you see a butterfly, it's supposed to be them visiting you from the other side. I had always thought, yeah what kinda crap is that? They are cute little creatures that help pollinate flowers. They start as caterpillars, and cocoon themselves, and then boom! Turn into something beautiful! However, butterflies are such significant, and remarkable creatures.

     Through the years I've learn and seen a lot that has me believe in God in ways that some would think are crazy. But I've seen God work in such amazing ways. And have learned that, yes, the butterflies are something that has given me comfort in knowing that God and my passed loved ones are always close.

     In early 2017, not only me, but a dear friend, as well as, the entire community that I live in, lost a very special person who was very respected and loved, in the little town I live in.

     My dear friend was a business owner, who had ran tow trucks in New Mexico for over 30 years. She had done some very amazing things in the industry. Her son, Bobby, was a very proud employee, and son, as he told all his customers all about her accomplishments. Bobby worked for her for quiet some time, as I did. And I mean, most of the community at one point had worked for her, or at least knew her and her son.

     By the time this incident had occured, some life changes had taken place and I wasn't working at the shop anymore. On a Sunday afternoon, Bobby was called out to assist with a tow considered a heavy duty tow, where a semi tractor and trailer are being towed. He was helping direct traffic for the other driver trying to complete the hookup process, when he noticed another semi truck not moving over to the other lane. Bobby shouted to the other driver to get to safety, but the driver didn't hear him. At this time, Bobby was in a safe place between the tow truck and the front of the semi truck. He ran out and ran towards the other driver, shoving the other driver in the large tool box on the side of the wrecker and ran towards to front of the wrecker. Before Bobby could make it to the front of the wrecker, the on coming 18 wheeler, struck him, taking Bobby's life.

     That day Bobby's life was taken, was the day, some many peoples lives had changed. I had seen unity of a community, like I had never seen before. The love that surrounded, was just amazing. However, Bobby didn't have to die. His life was taken by a senseless act. Of one truck driver not slowing down, not moving over. (And this topic is for another day). Bobby had children, and some many loved ones.

     About a week had gone by, as everyone got ready to take Bobby to his final resting place. There was a memorial help at the community convention center, and followed was the burial service and reception. However, the burial and reception were held about 90 miles away. (We live in the middle of no where, so I mean, everything is far away). Everyone lined up and followed the tow trucks and Bobby's casket, as it made it's way to the cemetery.

     I was running late, due to getting something's for the reception, so I was behind the line about 20 or 30 miles. As I start to get on the road, I start to notice there being little butterflies flying all along the side of the road. Flying around all the little weed flowers.

      At the time, I had a 2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse. It ran good, but not the best. However, it got me going. I start to catch up to the line of people, we start to approach a big canyon that goes through the side of a mountain. My car starts to make some not good sounds and starts to lose power. I quickly turned the radio off and rolled the windows down to listen to the motor. Now, this next part of what happened, could be called crazy, but I had my sister in my car with me, so she's just as crazy. Ha. Anyways, I make it about half way up the hill when the car almost lost all power. Then, I felt a sense of calmness come over me. And start to notice a bunch of butterflies landing on my moving car. All over the hood, to windshield, even the side mirrors had a few on there. I'm not over exaggerating when I say, there were probably 30 butterflies on my car, as it's starting to just die on me. Then I could feel the presence of someone in my backseat, and I heard him. Bobby's voice, and he told me, like he always told me so many times working with him, "It's okay Hun. I've got this. You'll be okay." I lost my breath, as tears filled my eyes and started rolling down my face. Before I could turn around to see what I had heard, the feeling of the presences was gone, but at that same time, my car gain power, and drove the rest of the way.

     We had finished the rest of his services and started to make it back. The whole time, all I seen were butterflies, flying all around me. It gave me comfort thinking Bobby had sent me the butterflies to help me and let me know he's a brother forever and will always be with me. I made it almost home. About 15 miles away, my car shut completely down. The difference this time, was I was following a flatbed tow truck. So once I pulled over, so did that driver and he was able to tow me in right away. We took my car to the shop and the next day the mechanic looked at it. He called me and told me some more crazy stuff. If you have ever had timing belt issues, you know it could be a pain. Well, my timing belt had broke. The mechanic explained to me though that the wheel for the timing were all lined up at the time the belt had broke, and that's unheard of. It was the easiest timing belt fix he had ever done. For me, Ive felt like it was Bobby's way of getting me as close to home as he could and making it as easy as possible.

     As the days went on, and we all started to go back and make lives without Bobby, I noticed butterflies, at least one, everywhere I went. Weather it be a real flying one, one printed on a shirt someone is wearing, or a picture of one hanging in the store. I've notice them everywhere. And they get my attention everytime.

     A couple years ago, the boss that I work for now asked me to do something with the part of outside that couldn't really grow grass or just didn't look good. So, I decided to plant my favorite flowers, in hopes I'd get to being the butterflies. And, just as I hoped, Bobby sends them to me. Chasing the Butterflies now have a different meaning in my life, then they did when I was little.

Nature
2

About the Creator

Kayla Lynn Waksmonski

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.