Earth logo

Capturing the Wild and Untamed

Shenandoah's Black Bears

By Jennifer ChristiansenPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
12
"Protect and Conserve" by Jennifer Christiansen

I turn and smile at my husband as we approach the halfway mark of the South River Falls Trail in Shenandoah National Park. Earlier in the day, we met a woman who said this area was a great place to spot black bears. Living in Virginia for about a year, we hiked many trails in Shenandoah. All of them were amazing, but the opportunity to see a bear evaded us.

It's nearing midday. The April sun sporadically peeks out from behind gray clouds as we continue along the trail that looks out over the scenic landscape. From our height, we can see the ranging canopy of the hardwood forest extending to the valley floor. There is a slight chill in the air as the wind carries bird calls from far away. The doubt that has been nibbling at the back of my mind is becoming harder to ignore. If we can’t see a bear here in acres and acres of wilderness, where can we?

My desperation to glimpse a black bear may seem odd. But I have my reasons for admiring this animal.

"Midstride" by Jennifer Christiansen

As someone who lives for the four seasons, I have a love-hate relationship with Southwest Florida. I had some good times there during my twenty years as a resident, but it was never the right place for me. Not only because of the oppressive heat that confined me to an air-conditioned room most of the year, but also because of the state’s treatment of wild areas and natural life. There were many moments when I couldn’t wait to live somewhere else. The Lake Okeechobee releases that poison the water and wildlife, affecting the already struggling manatee population, were a huge impetus for my desire to leave the area. Other factors included massive overdevelopment and the virtual eradication of the Florida panther.

"In Jeopardy" by Jennifer Christiansen

One day, I happened upon a turtle while I was out jogging. It stopped in the middle of the busy road, as if unsure of where to go, so I posted a picture of it on social media and asked my friends for advice on how to help it.

“Just place it in the direction it was going,” someone suggested.

“But there’s nowhere for it to go,” I replied, circling around and seeing the closely packed houses lining the street.

“Don’t you have woods? Or a park? Something nearby?”

No, not really. We didn’t. This area of Florida had become so overdeveloped that there was hardly a tree to be seen except some decorative palms in people’s landscaped yards. In fact, I couldn’t even think of a nature park in our area. At least not one where a turtle would be safe from people and traffic.

"Basking" by Jennifer Christiansen

This experience caused me to seriously reflect on the enormous hardships that the earth and our wildlife were being forced to endure. I began to take small steps in an attempt to make a difference, from volunteering to writing editorials.

Then, in 2015, Florida scheduled the first black bear hunt in over twenty years. Scheduled to last a week, it was forced to a halt after forty-eight hours when limits were quickly surpassed. A total of 304 bears were killed. A few brave bear-allies protested in person. I, along with many others, wrote letters to officials and editorials for the newspaper. We created and signed petitions and posted all over social media to inform the public in the hopes of having the hunt cancelled. Public outrage exploded when news emerged that almost forty lactating females were killed, leaving as many as a hundred cubs to starve and die. Illegal baits were used to attract the bears. Cubs weighing little over forty pounds were also shot.

Individuals and groups came together to make sure a Florida bear hunt wouldn’t be repeated in upcoming years. We persuaded individual cities and counties to pass resolutions against a hunt. I worked with allies to have that resolution passed in our town, even though it wasn’t heavily populated with bears.

Many people began to slowly realize the importance of saving land for our wildlife and using more humane methods to reduce human contact with bears. Six years later there hasn’t been another bear hunt in Florida. This life-changing experience was proof of the difference citizens can make when we band together.

I became largely plant-based and signed up to volunteer as a district leader with the Humane Society of the United States, where the main part of my work is educating and lobbying government leaders to pass animal-protection legislation. We also moved to Virginia, a state with the many parks and natural spaces I was craving.

"The Natural Beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains" by Jennifer Christiansen

Over the years, the black bear became a symbol for me—a reminder of the beauty of the natural world, as well as confirmation that people have the power to change things for the better.

So now, every time I hike in Shenandoah National Park, I search for this amazing animal. And this particular day, shortly after the halfway mark of South River Falls Trails, my wish is granted.

I hear it before I see it. Rustling in the trees down below our trail. Branches snap and leaves fall, and a small black shape rises through the thicket. A baby bear.

"The Climb" by Jennifer Christiansen

He climbs higher up to the top of the ash tree. I wonder how the spindly branches can support his weight. But they do. He begins munching on the hard-to-reach catkins, the tree swaying from left to right. His paw slips on the mossy bark. He wobbles a bit but regains his footing and resumes his meal. I realize that I have been holding my breath in awe, so I exhale in relief. Here is a bear that is truly wild and untamed, an image of freedom and nature’s beauty. This is worth protecting and conserving. After another moment of appreciation, I get to work.

I have my Canon Rebel T3 and tripod ready to go. Using a 300mm zoom lens, I capture the shots pictured here. Some wildlife photos require quick action to get an unexpected shot or a lot of patience while waiting for the subject to appear. But this little cub is not in a hurry to go anywhere. Waiting for his face to clear the crisscrosses of branches between us is a challenge, but I have plenty of time. I use a slower shutter speed for a clear shot and make sure that I have ample negative space in the foliage surrounding the bear. He has climbed so high up the tree in search of food that he is now almost eye level with us. The clicking sounds from my camera catch his attention. He looks our way. It’s the perfect shot.

"Freedom" by Jennifer Christiansen

Later, I edit the picture in Adobe Photoshop for composition to remove distractions, trying to get as close as I can without losing the context of the animal high up in the tree. Minimal editing is needed. I focus on shadows and highlights for optimal brightness and do a bit of sharpening as well.

Over the last four years, we’ve seen many more black bears in Shenandoah National Park. The sight will never get old. In fact, we are visiting again over Memorial Day weekend. And you better believe that my Canon will be ready to capture the wild again.

"Hope" by Jennifer Christiansen

Nature
12

About the Creator

Jennifer Christiansen

Animal advocate, traveler, and bibliophile. Lover of all things dark and romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Love this. Thank you for doing getting involved to save these beautiful creatures.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.