Earth logo

Beverly's Window Gardens

Give a gift of love through a living thing

By Beverly Rugley-McClorePublished 3 years ago 4 min read

One of the things that has bought me new immense joy, excitement, and hope during Corona virus 2020-2021.This idea is Beverly's Windows Garden's. When the epidemic first started, I began to hear a lot of complaints and fears from normally strong people. I then realized that people for the first time were experiencing an unknow new level of encountering a new traumatic disease, depression, financial difficulty, and varied degrees of fear.

I began praying and mediating and it was put in my heart and soul to make a gift of love. A gift of giving new life in the form of a living plant that will become a beautiful window garden. I hadn't had an idea like that since the 1970's. I used to braid macramé hangers and put glass circles in the bottom, creating hanging tables for plants and creative miscellaneous items to decorate my home. I loved it then and guess what? I started to research the idea! I decided that I wanted plants that would grow in water. This way each person that received the gift would be guaranteed good success.

My first thoughts were what types or kinds of plants. I wanted plants that anyone can grow in water. I know some people have a challenging time growing plants in dirt. These window gardens will bring peace, love, and something to care about during a time when so many were just going through so much.

In bringing this idea to life, I searched the internet and found round plastic jars that won't break. Next, I needed something for the roots to grow on that wouldn't make the plants sick. I found these beautiful plastic crystals that look like diamonds; they will add a touch of sparkle to the hanging jars. I found amazing macramé hangers, I thought about making them, but I found well designed assortments by searching on the internet. They come in many distinct colors, designs, and sizes. I noticed that they only offered the screw in ceiling with the hanger. I know some people don't want holes in their ceilings, so I was able to fine a hook that draped over your rod that you already have hanging. For my final decoration I used butterflies; silver and gold that attach to the outside of the jar. They add extra sparkle to the jars when the sunlight hit it. You can have the colors of your choice. I started out with silver and gold to match any interior decor.

As I eagerly waited for the arrival of the materials for the windows gardens; I started to tell some of my friends and family about the idea. They got excited and my idea was given birth and new life. I made the first one's for my sister and her daughter as a Mother's Day gift and housewarming present. Here are a few pictures of my sister showing how much she loves her window garden. Since that time, I have given them to my Pastor, her daughter and will continue to bless people with them. I have found it to be a blessing to allow the recipients to decorate their globes with their butterflies' designs. They have made some beautiful creations, making them a one-of-a-kind work of art. (SMILE).

My first love is to guarantee success that anyone can grow plants in water. Man, woman or child. I want to give simple instructions, container, and a do-it-yourself kit where you just add bottled water. I would include ever thing you need and Wa! La! You have your very own Beverly's Window Garden. You can continue to add more if you like. You can give them as gifts. My joy is that You put will them anywhere you have a rod in your house. Buy special request I will supply the plant or plants that you love and want. I know some people have a tough time growing plants in dirt and have spent a lot of money with no success. But now you have another option. I believe that having a gift of living life with love will give them a new focus. It will take their minds off their troubles and be an answer to a prayer.

In my research: these plants are the best for growing successfully in water. The list includes philodendron, coleus, fiddle leaf fig, begonia, geraniums, spider plants, jade, peace lily, lucky bamboo, Chine evergreen, arrowhead plant, butterfly plant, wandering Jew, sweet potato vine, pothos. You can always add to the list, when in doubt ask me? I'll find it for you, just send me a picture! These plants do well in water. the key is to choose from a healthy plant to get your window garden started from. Be sure to check your water level weekly of your plant/plants. You will soon see beautiful root growing out they can remain in water forever. Plants help keep the air clean and grow amazingly fast if you change the water bi- monthly. Bottled water is the best for window garden's because it hasn't been treated with all the chemical's that come in tap water. If you must use tap water store it in a plastic gallon container and leave the top off for 24 hours. That will allow the gases to be released from any chemicals in the water. Add a teaspoon of sugar to the gallon of water to help your plant create glucose this is also called the photosynthesis process. the Photosynthesis process is when plants use sunlight, water, and carbon dioxide to create oxygen and energy in the form of sugar. Check your plants roots every few months for cleaning and any dead debris. Happy Growing! Blessings Beverly

Nature

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Beverly Rugley-McCloreWritten by Beverly Rugley-McClore

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.