Earth logo

An Elephant's Complaint

An elephant writes a letter of complaint to a hunter.

By Adel FarghalPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

Let’s unleash our imagination and wear the shoes of one of the endangered animals on Earth. Elephants are highly intelligent and emotional animals, and they have been known to grieve and mourn the loss of their herd members, even showing signs of depression when separated from their families. They are also social animals, and their strong bonds with their family members are an essential part of their lives. If an elephant could write a complaint to a hunter, it would be a heartbreaking message that conveys the pain and suffering that these magnificent creatures experience when hunted and killed. I wish such a letter would be a plea for understanding that could help such amazing animals survive!

Dear Hunter,

I am writing this letter to you in the hope that you might understand the pain and suffering you have caused me and my family. I am an elephant, a majestic creature that roams the wilds of Africa and Asia. My kind has roamed these lands for thousands of years, and we have always lived in harmony with the environment and the other creatures that share our habitat. However, over the years, we have seen our numbers dwindle, and our once vast territories shrink as humans continue to encroach on our lands.

I am writing this letter to you today because I want to tell you about the harm you have caused me and my family. A few months ago, you and your fellow hunters came to our part of the forest. We were minding our own business, grazing on the grass and enjoying the sunshine, when we heard the sound of your rifles. We knew what that meant, and we immediately tried to flee, but you were too fast, and you caught up with us.

You shot my mother first, and she fell to the ground, writhing in pain. We all tried to protect her, but you kept shooting, and soon, my brothers and sisters were also lying on the ground, bleeding and dying. I managed to escape, but I saw the horror of what you had done. You had killed my family, destroyed our herd, and left me alone and vulnerable.

I have been wandering the forest ever since, trying to find my way back to where I belong. But I am lost, alone, and scared. I miss my family; I miss the comfort of their presence and the safety of their embrace. I miss the way they protected me and cared for me, and I am lost without them.

You may think that what you did was necessary, that you were only trying to feed your family or make a living. But I want you to know that what you did was wrong. You took away our lives, our dignity, and our future. You destroyed a family, and you left me to suffer the consequences of your actions.

I want you to know that I am not alone in my suffering. Elephants all over the world are being hunted, poached, and killed for their tusks, their meat, or simply for the pleasure of killing. We are losing our homes, our families, and our lives, and it is all because of human greed and ignorance.

So I am asking you, Hunter, to please stop. Stop killing us, stop destroying our homes, stop taking away our families. We are not your enemies; we are not a threat to you. We are simply animals trying to live our lives in peace, just like you.

Please, Hunter, I implore you to reconsider your actions. Think about the pain and suffering you have caused and think about the consequences of your actions. I hope that you will listen to my plea and make a change for the better.

Sincerely,

An Elephant

Advocacy
Like

About the Creator

Adel Farghal

Adel is a passionate teacher of English who is passionate about literature, psychology and learning. He finds poetry and storytelling exceptional tools to portray the inner part of humans as well as the infinite exterior surrounding them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.