Earth logo

A Love Letter to our Mother

I feel a tiredness in Her today...

By Angie AllanbyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo by Angie Allanby

She is so exhausted - has been trying SO HARD to keep going, keep supplying, hoping we will wake up and step up for Her.

I was buying potatoes when I began to cry. Just suddenly…. tears began to leak. I held this fruit of Hers in my hand and I felt Her heart - She has given all that She can, shown us where She needs us to wake up and grow up, and we have ignored Her.

I felt Her pain as not so much Her ability to produce and create - that ability never will die. But She is mortally wounded from the disrespect and the insufferably inconsiderate behaviour, the lack of regard and wonton taking of Her goodness, the thoughtless plunder and the intentional decimation that leave scars scored upon Her skin.

As humans, we certainly can relate! We reach the stage of intolerance a lot quicker than our Mother. When doing and doing and doing things for others who don't notice, don’t care and don’t ever reciprocate considerately, we soon learn that our energy is being squandered...

Photo by Angie Allanby

With our Mother, though, I feel Her surrender differently to ours. She has poured out so much love for us all upon and within Her, and yet one of Her species has become worse than a plague.

We have allowed ourselves to become plunderers, choosing individual gain above anything else. We work jobs, build businesses and follow our own pursuits recklessly, rather than spend time loving Her back. We chase deals and dreams - us with our selfish ambitions - without a single thought of the verdant naturalness all around us, without loving or giving back to Her anything at all.

Idiots! Fools! We are SUCH FOOLS.

Every relationship takes time, and expects of us to be our best selves. Time and thought spent on our ridiculously petty aspects is more than we spend cherishing our own Mother, whom we cannot live without. When did we last melt our hearts into Hers, stroke the face of Her beauty, make a decision that put Her first?

When?

Photo by Angie Allanby

We march out in droves purchasing cheap deals and stolen food, poisoning Her with our packaging and chemicals to produce what we do not need. What we don’t see, we actively choose to ignore. While we publicly damn wasteful practices, we privately cheer on the cheaper fish, price cuts due to higher yields and expand our waistlines while She nips in Hers.

This pain I feel does not threaten Her, overall. She will rest, and She will restore. She always does. She adjusts, finds new ways, invents creative solutions. But if She gives up on us now, we - Humans - WE are done for.

I felt Her heart, and it is broken.

We have allowed Her heart to break, to abandon Her will to sustain us any longer.

Is it too late for us?

Photo by Angie Allanby

“Mother Earth, let me carry You for a while. Let me hold You, fight for You, nurture You. You have raised me well, only I was side-tracked, selfish, taken in by the lie of achievement and excess. But I am here for You now. I promise this: I will love Your every symbol and essence - from a golden speck of dust in the air, to the great trees that grow their life-giving fingers into Your depths. I will cherish and tend to all of You that I can, introducing nothing to harm You. I will walk lightly upon Your face, and with each step, I will send You love. I will speak of my love for You to those who have forgotten too, with pride that I am a child of Your world. I choose to help You believe in us again.”

I say this for me. Will you join me too?

Nature
3

About the Creator

Angie Allanby

Lover of earth. Citizen of the world. Seeker of truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.