Earth logo

A Letter to the Hawaiian Waves that Whispered, "Aloha!"

This is a short story that shows how one of the beaches in Oahu, Hawaii serves as a metaphor for life.

By Angelica Lyanna N. GarciaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A Letter to the Hawaiian Waves that Whispered, "Aloha!"

By. Angelica Lyanna N. Garcia

To The Waves (crashing and smoothing out the soft, light-beige sand before me),

Hi! It has been a long time. Finally, after so many years of avoiding you, here I am.

Look at you! You're going back and forth. But in the end, you're always coming back to me. You're my fear, and my sorrow. It's such a white, soft-gray, cloudy day as some of the clouds block the great sun's way, and yet, as I stand here in front of you, you keep rolling in as if to whisper the words, "Aloha!"

Ha! Are you trying to challenge me to step right in? Well, I am here, aren't I? Now, after so many years of running, I guess I don't have any choice, do I?

Well, here it goes!

I take one step into the water. It's cold, and it's a bit rocky. I don't want to get hurt. I know I am stepping on small, tiny rocks, but I don't know how sharp they are, or how easily they can pierce through my flesh. How can I even know when they are all covered by the blurring water?

I could go back, but there are people out there ahead of me. They are standing, and enjoying the ocean waves. I hear people say that it's not too deep, and that it's pretty shallow out there in the distance. I . . . I want to go there too. I want to face my current fears, and go the distance.

People are now saying that the ocean sand gets smoother after this initial rocky path. I really don't want to get hurt, but I want to go further. I just got to get through this rocky stage slowly, hoping that I don't bleed.

Slowly now. Alright, I am inches away. Ugh! It's tough! But I got this! And . . . There! I am here to where it's much better now.

Oh no! The waves! There are too many of them coming my way! Ok. I made it this far. Just breathe, and . . . . Oh! The waves are not as bad as I thought!

Actually, these waves come rolling in quickly, but they are gentle. They are not that harsh at all. On the contrary, they lift you up if you allow yourself to follow their rhythm and flow. It's fun, surprisingly. It comes and goes, and I accept it. I welcome it.

I was once told that "Aloha" means hello, and that it also means love. I got to tell you that I have never felt the love of the waves as much as I have on this day. Not all waves are the same. So, I am glad to have this experience of the "Aloha Love" from this Hawaiian beach, where I can also feel the meaning behind the word, "Shaka." It really feels nice taking it easy, and going with the flow of the waves.

With Gratitude,

Your Tourist/Visitor

Notes:

So that was my short story called, A Letter to the Hawaiian Waves that Whispered, "Aloha!" It was based on one of my experiences going into the water of one of the beaches in Oahu, Hawaii. After going in, experiencing, and observing everything, I thought about how much it describes life, and what we experience. This short story can show that with the unfamiliar, uncomfortable, and the unknown, things can be scary for us. But if we try and work on stuff, things can become easier and more comfortable. Furthermore, this short story can also be about facing and overcoming your fears and anxiety with bravery, trust, and patience. It encourages taking on challenges, and gradually working towards goals. In addition, the spirit of "aloha" and "shaka" of the Hawaiian culture was mentioned. I hope you can see how simple yet beautiful my experience was.

short story
Like

About the Creator

Angelica Lyanna N. Garcia

Graduated in human development and childhood development. I care about mental health awareness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.