Earth logo

A Circadian Rhythm Resolve for the New Year

How rediscovering my natural, gentle ease and pace will help with rest and my well-being for this beautiful new year

By Virginia McGuirePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
A Circadian Rhythm Resolve for the New Year
Photo by Mahdi Soheili on Unsplash

Nature can a be such a resource for us to learn our own natural rhythms. In daily life we can at times pick up the pace or rhythm of the life around us. It's natural to meet the day during life with what we have available to offer. We might have a schedule to keep and it might have a pace that varies.

Sometimes our day might be busy and more fast and other times more slow. Some days we might be sitting in front of a computer or in meetings, other days may be with children or friends out and about. Well, this is what I found over the years, whatever the schedule we need to connect to our sense of self and home to find good rest. This year I resolve to find that at least daily, maybe more often.

This year I am following mother nature into a better sense of rest. Circadian rhythms will be my dear friend . During the day the beautiful sun will remind me of rising to some quiet, then gentle movement and some colorful nutrition from vegetables and fruits to get the day going. Then as the day picks up, I'm orienting toward staying in touch with the nurturing and nourishing provided from the mornings as often as possible to help me center in the moment and offer a better sense of presence to others as well.

In the evening as the sunsets, the golden glow of between times remind me to begin slowing down. At home I'll return to some gentle movement, like yoga, a walk in nature or gentle dancing to some soothing music to help bring myself into some calm. Other things that can add to my evenings sense of warm-heartedness and ease are teas, card games with family, slowing my breathing and focusing within and with out on those close to me . If I feel upset I can offer myself a long bath and some alone time to regroup, journal or meditate. Or if I feel like I need some exercise I can move in nature on a walk by myself or with good friends.

Our family has had cats and/or dogs most of my life. Time with them is also nurturing to me. They have an unconditional love as well that adds to my sense of well-being. Caring for them adds to a grounded sense of sharing love.

My garden is nourishing to my soul. Gardening reminds me of how nature is an ongoing steady relationship of change. It amazes me how a tiny seed with all kinds of potentials can, when placed in some beautiful soil rise to those potentials given care, sun, water, and nurturing. Working in the garden almost anytime is relaxing and invigorating. This adds to a connection of the circadian rhythms in real and subtle way.

I will continue creating artworks as part of my weekly schedule. Many of the subjects of my artwork are flora and fauna from the natural world. Birds, flowers, landscapes and elements inspire me.

It is like stepping into a world of wonder and this time enlivens both my sense of wonder and connection to beauty. It s relationship of acceptance for me. Again the circadian rhythms are real, subtle and vital in the relationship with the natural world. This adds to my sense of connection and in the evening it is more easy to let things be and receive rest after connecting in this way.

Music with no words in the evening is another way I begin to let go of the pace of the outer world and turn toward the receptivity of moon rise. Gentle beautiful classical music or calming instrumentals can be very soothing. With no words the mind can relax as it does not have to interpret or figure out meaning. I learned this from Eastern mystical studies and found it to be true!

Caring touch helps sooth our central nervous system, so I am adding massage in as well. I am hoping to get a massage a couple of times a month by a professional massage therapist . Also, I'm already picking out lotions with herbs, or fruit scents that add to a sense healing for my feet and hands for massage at home. The massage is to soothe as well as enhance the connection of meridians that run throughout the body in all of our connective tissue. Reminding my body, heart, mind soul and spirit it's time to relax.

The mind/body connection is so incredibly designed! This sort of mindful touch with the intention of healing and care can bring about such ease. The ritual of the evening will include other cues for relaxing and rest. Any news or programs with traumatic events will be completely avoided some evenings to add to a sense of safety and security. Screens ( TV, computers and phones) will go off at least a half hour before sleep time, so the .time will focus on relaxing, reading a book or gentle yoga. And my intention is to focus on the gratitude's I have for the day I have had and turning things over to a great loving universe for the night.

These are my intentions for this year of renewed rest. My hope is this beautiful intention and practice will help restore my heart, mind, body, soul and spirit as well as renew my sense of the sacred. I have found that a depth of healing presence and rest invigorates my life, relationships and work. The natural world is such a beacon, and I am so appreciative of the map to healing and well-being it can be.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Virginia McGuire

I was born in Charlotte, NC and moved to the country an hour from Charlotte 24 years ago. I create mixed media art, write and am also a counselor. I find music adds to inspiration daily, while celebrating our beautiful planet with the arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.