Earth logo

25 Things I do to reduce my carbon footprint

Make the wave challenge entry

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
25 Things I do to reduce my carbon footprint
Photo by Sergey Shmidt on Unsplash

Climate change is serious


Climate Change is going to destroy the world if we do not make changes now, it’s going to make devastating consequences on not just humanity, but for the entire universe. The Earth will no longer become the wonderful planet of nature it once was.

My first awareness of climate change was through Micheal Jackson’s music video for Earth Song, which is one of my favourite songs by him. I think it’s a wonderful ballad and I think it’s highly relevant to today’s climate change emergency.

I do think it’s good that people are finally putting their act together, even though I fear it might be too little, too late if we don’t all act together. The best thing about reducing our carbon footprint is that it is simple things that we can all do. So here I am sharing my methods of reducing my carbon footprint for the sake of the planet.

1. Only buy food I know I will eat

Living on my own, I will only buy foods that I know I’m going to eat. Buying in bulk only for things to expire and rot away is a waste of time and money. It’s also bad for the environment too. I always feel bad if I can’t finish my meal, and that food will go in the brown bin for compost.

2. Reusing bags

Instead of using and buying plastic bags, I’ve been trying to reuse bags I’ve already got when I can. I went to a supermarket in Malta to get some snack in the hotel and they used bags that could decompose, I think the UK should have ones like that too.

3. Recycling

I will always recycle when I can. All my plastics, finished magazines, packaging and cardboard always goes in the blue bin. My blue bin is full a lot of the time. Near me, there is also a glass bottle bank where I can put finished glass bottles in. I know recycling isn’t as availible in some areas as there are in others, but it’s a good start.

4. Reusing

I have a lot of food tubs at home that I use to put stuff in the fridge or freezer. There’s also a plastic free shop in my town which I can go to, to top stuff up and pay for what I have. I think this is a great idea and I think more areas should have places like this.

5. Thrift Stores

Instead of supporting fast fashion, which has been damaging to the environment, I tend to buy a lot of clothes second-hand know. Once in a while, I will treat myself to new clothes, but I’ve found some wonderful stuff in thrift and charity shops that I either wouldn’t have found in other shops or would have paid twice as much for.

6. Using tea as stock

If I find a tea too strong to drink on it’s own, I do use it as stock for soups, curries, pasta and other savoury dishes.

7. Freezing

What would I be without my freezer. I don’t have a big fridge or freezer, but I have enough space for what I need. I’ve been able to save a couple of tonnes of waste by simply freezing leftover food.

8. Plants

Having a garden is a big responsibility. They are a big boost both physical and mentally to yourself. All plants absorb carbon dioxide and thus are great for reducing carbon footprint.

9. Walking

Walking instead of driving is another easy way to reduce our carbon footprint. I went on a walk around the University Parks in Oxford and thought it was wonderful. I was lucky with the weather and it made me more determined to protect this wonderful planet.

10. Using public transport

On longer journeys, I will use public transport like the train or the bus. The bus route I take to go to Oxford cuts through all the villages and it’s a scenic view that you could expect from a tour bus.

11. Turning off electricity when not in the house

Sometimes I forget to do this, but I’m trying to do this more often now. As I’m on an electric metre, this will also help me save money too.

12. Choosing not to drive

I know that I will be a terrible driver and never be able to afford it. I also don’t think I will not use it enough.

13. Only buying new clothes when needed

I don’t buy a lot of clothes often because if they still fit or aren’t torn, there’s no need to replace them.

14. Disposing of things ethically

I always try and get rid of stuff in an ethical way. I donate stuff to charity shops if I think they’d in a sellable condition and trade-in games at the game shop for in-store credit. Anything to stop stuff going into a landfill is a good thing for me.

15. Don’t litter

What might just be a little can on the floor, can be a choking or entrapment hazard for wildlife.

16. Pick up litter

It’s horrible seeing litter all over our lovely fields. Most people are good at this, but if I feel safe to, I will pick up litter and put it in the nearest bin.

17. Buying canned foods

Because metal cans can easily be recycled and some plastics cannot.

18. Buying non-plastic food

19. Bringing own bottles

20. Wearing reusuable masks

21. Downloads and streams

22. Not buying meat

23. Signing petitions that support climate change

Signing and sharing petitions is a great way to push people in power to do more about climate change. I don’t think they would have made any effort without people’s hard campaigns.

24. Using Ecoasia

I’ve installed Ecoasia on my iPad again. I used to have it a while ago and it made me feel good that something as simple as searching was helping plant more trees.

25. Supporting environmental friendly companies!

I try to go to shops that do sustainable products like Lush, Body Shop and also Paperchase. I like how shops are getting more savvy with this by offering loose fruit

Thank you!

Although the big changes will have to be from the big guys, we can still do a lot more nd if we keep pushing it, eventually they will have to do something.

Sustainability
6

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.