Critique logo

What Happened to Tiffany Ray?

Content warning- spoilers/gore/horror

By Sara WilsonPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
5
Tiffany Ray- Bride of Chucky- 1998

The year was 1999. Ten-year-old Sara was sitting at home alone watching the rented movies mom had picked up from Blockbuster. Bride of Chucky was tonight's choice.

I popped in the VHS tape and sat down to watch what I thought was going to be another classic Chucky horror film- but was taken by surprise. Something about that one in particular hit me in a way nothing else had so far (cinematic wise anyways). Onto the screen waltzed the drop-dead gorgeous Tiffany Ray. Her tight black dress and spiked heels. The way the tights lined up perfectly with the backs of her legs. The blonde hair and dark roots. I was completely taken aback by how beautiful she looked.. and how different. I was always a little different myself, so seeing a beauty in a movie that wasn't your typical Julia Roberts with bare minimum makeup and naturally beautiful features for once was such an interesting thing to me.

For years, that was my absolute favorite horror movie. Tiffany Ray had quickly become my favorite horror movie icon. Even in her doll form, she was gorgeous and sultry. Everything about that movie and that character was cinematic perfection to me and not only just in the dolls looks. While both of the dolls were perfect and had never looked better (The way Tiff stitched Chucky together and made him look authentically distressed. The way her hair and nails and lips looked.) It wasn't just that. Tiffany was such a perfectly put together character. Mysterious. Sexy. So in love with Chucky. The line "You know me, I'll kill anyone... but I'll only sleep with someone I love." showed that. It was one of the things that drew me to her. Her passion. Her creativity. She couldn't be topped.

Imagine my excitement when I heard about Seed of Chucky coming out. I couldn't wait to see a new installment! Chucky and Tiff together again! I didn't know how the story would be told- but it was voodoo. Anything could happen. That was actually the beginning of the end in my opinion. It was so bad! The worst one ever! The dolls looked insane. Their lips. Tiffs hair was all wrong. Chuckys stitches were too clean. I know they explained it by saying, "We had Hollywood make-overs" but come on- they looked horrible. The plastic dolls really did look plastic. Which is such a weird complaint to have but I hated it.

The Tiff doll on the left is the original Bride of Chucky Tiff. Notice the shape of the lips, the eyebrows, the makeup. Everything is different from the Seed Of Chucky doll on the right. She's got a wider smile. The lips are less full and less defined. The eyebrows are a mess, the nose is longer, and the general shape of the whole face is just wrong.

To add insult to injury, the movie itself was just a horrible joke. Tiffany was always crying and acting weird. The plot line was absurd. It was a joke now. Not a horror movie. Why did they not just stop with Bride of Chucky? It just got worse and worse. There have been other installments of course. Now with the Chucky series, I'm honestly just flabbergasted. I'm not fully caught up on all episodes but what I have seen so far makes me annoyed.

Her style has completely changed and that was one of the best things about her. Her sultry expressions from the first have become over animated and she acts like an airhead instead of the romantic she was. Even the calculated killer behavior she used to embody is gone.

They have destroyed everything that made Tiffany- Tiffany. She's a nutjob. She acts weird. Even in the past flash backs, that doesn't seem like the same sexy, mysterious, and loyal bombshell we saw in Bride of Chucky. Not even a little bit. Tiffany has gone from being a super romantic and obsessed lover into some over the top caricature. It's so sad. I know, I know- it's a fictional character. I shouldn't care this much. But I do. In a way, it feels like losing an imaginary friend that helped me break out of my own shell as a kid (fashion and loyalty wise). She made it ok to be the dark beauty who knows what she wants.

Every new episode of Chucky, I just find myself more and more disappointed. The franchise was my favorite growing up, but it's completely gone in the trash. It's turned into nothing more than another lame comedy with too much unnecessary gore. I mean, Bride of Chucky did have its fair share of comedy and gore- but it was done so differently.

I don't know, call me crazy- but there is a vast difference between the Tifffany in this first clip vs the Tiffany in the second and I'm just disappointed at the way they are making her character an unhinged lunatic with seemingly no loyalty or any of the other qualities that made her what she was.

Her clothes, her personality, the way she talks. It seems like the version of Tiffany you might find on Wish or at the Dollar Tree.

If you watch it, do you have thoughts about her or her character development? Or am I just an overly obsessed weirdo who should find something better to do than be annoyed at made up characters? -_-

Character Development
5

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Insightful piece!

  • Omgggg! Where have you been my whole life? I'm obsessed with Tiffany! And yes, I too am so disappointed with how much she's not the same Tiffany from Bride of Chucky! The Chucky series is so terrible! I only watched season 1 and 2. I've had enough. Not planning to watch season 3. Also, I don't like what they did to Nica in the series. I really liked her too. Anyway, I'm just so glad that we feel the same thing about the whole Chucky franchise!

  • To be honest, those clips are the most I've ever seen of all the Chucky movies & shows combined.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.