Critique logo

The Star Trek Franchise

It's about more than boldly going where no one has gone before (from the Original Series to today).

By Jason McCoyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
6
The Star Trek Franchise
Photo by Stefan Cosma on Unsplash

Not just about space, Star Trek's strength is in its tackling of social and political issues. The series challenges norms and celebrates differences. It tells us that utopia from dystopia is possible. Even when we are not perfect, we can be redeemed. And if all else fails, just time travel.

Television
6

About the Creator

Jason McCoy

Writer, photographer, programmer, carpenter, musician, husband, father, and friend

A maker at heart in all things

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Very good review, good luck in the challenge 👍

  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    I love this!!! You captured every show’s essence. My favorite was DS-9. What’s yours? You’re the real McCoy 🖖

  • I've never watched this but I loved your review! Excellent work!

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Love this critique! I didn't really watch it when I was a child; I might possibly give it another try now. Random bit of info you didnt ask for: I did watch Farscape though, which was about space.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.