Critique logo

The Old Man and the Sea

If I count my words different than you do I still have to use 50

By The Invisible WriterPublished 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
67

An old man, a sea

A weathered determination

A journey taken, a boat worn

DiMaggio in newspaper pages

Three days fishing, a Marlin

Blood in the water, Mako sharks

Strength of courage, of love, told in a tale

A boy’s dedication, a skeleton

Dreams of lions on an African beach

Novel
67

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (51)

Sign in to comment
  • Tel-Lesia Rhoden9 months ago

    Awesome. Well done.

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    What a summary!

  • Lovely! I need to read this book again!

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    Good job, I wish I remembered the story, he was battling with a fish I thought. The poems makes me want to reread the story

  • Rachael MacDonald9 months ago

    great choice! loved the structure of this one :) congrats on TS!

  • Sam H Arnold9 months ago

    Love this

  • Naveedkk 9 months ago

    Congratulations on top story

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    Incredible, congratulations on top storyπŸ’

  • Jessica Jonathan 9 months ago

    Congratulations on the top story

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Love this critique ❀️ Well done 😊

  • Test9 months ago

    Congrats on the well deserved top story!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Very well done. Perfect description. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Summed up nicely. I struggled with The Old Man and The Sea. It didn't move me like I thought it would. I got it- allegorically as well as literally - but I found it a bit of a chore. These critiques have shown me that there are lots of work in the literary canon that I have no appreciation for - Wuthering Heights, The Turn of the Screw and now this! Anyway, less about me. Critique was spot on and congrats!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This book is on my list of must read's. Though what I know of it, you nailed it in 50 words! Stunning work, Will! This should definitely place. Congrats too on Top Story!

  • Aynur Yusifova9 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Doc Sherwood9 months ago

    This is the best of these I've read. Totally brings back DiMaggio's bone-spur (Hemingway was the first I ever heard about that) and the taste of raw tuna with lime, delicious! Your review is written out of an intimate acquaintance with and understanding of the text, which comes as a pleasant change when certain other entrants in this challenge don't even seem to have read their books of choice. Congratulations!

  • Akhilesh9 months ago

    That was an essence dripped from the novel. I liked the arrangement of words. Plus, I also liked the ending, the dream that the old man always sees, the African Lions on the beach.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Wow! That was awesome! Congrats!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Congrats on your TOP STORY!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Wonderful!@@ congratulations on Top Story!!!β™₯️β™₯οΈπŸ’•

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • JBaz9 months ago

    Excellent, like the structure and description. Congratulations

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.