Critique logo

"The Lighthouse", a bite-sized critique

for the Critique challenge

By Rebekah ConardPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Second Place in Critique Challenge
32

At the A24 logo: your eyes roll, mine light up. Robert Pattinson and Willem Dafoe are weird, gross, old-timey men. They're perfect. It gets trippy; a love letter to Weird fiction. The end, an allusion, on the nose. Call me pretentious, it's right up my alley. I own the Blu-Ray.

Movie
32

About the Creator

Rebekah Conard

31, She/Her, a big bi nerd

How do I write a bio that doesn't look like a dating profile? Anyway, my cat is my daughter, I crochet and cross stitch, and I can't ride a bike. Come take a peek in my brain-space, please and thanks.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    LOVE THIS MOVIE. I did a review of it for a college newspaper class. I analyzed the shit out of it. A24 puts out fantastic films, and this one really shines. Weird--definitely an understatement. Near absurdism! Well done on 2nd place!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Congrats on the win. Never saw it. So just saying good job.

  • Megan Malcolm8 months ago

    I've been meaning to watch this, and your description has bumped it all the way up my "to watch" list! Well done, and congrats!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    haven't seen it but am now intrigued!! Congrats!!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Nice work and congrats on your placement!! 😊👏 I prefer The Witch and The Northman, yet still found a lot to appreciate within The Lighthouse. Glad you are a fan.

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Congratulations, this was on my watch list now I must

  • E.K. Daniels8 months ago

    Congrats! Love A24, and after this, look forward to seeing this one! Well done!

  • Ava Mack8 months ago

    Congrats Rebekah! This has been on my "to watch" list forever and I think this is my sign to watch it!

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    Congrats on placing, Rebekah! This was a fun take on a movie that I tried really, really hard to like haha. I'm a big A24 buff... but this one was just a little too weird for me to comfortably watch. ... but maybe I'm supposed to be uncomfortable while watching? Maybe I'll pop it in for a rerun this weekend and see if you've changed my mind at all :)

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Great story, well told. Spare, yet complete. Congratulations on the No2 slot. Really well done!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    I did not care overmuch for this film, and I think I just don't vibe with A24, but I can 100% agree that it was beautifully done! A wonderfully made movie and I'm so happy it has a dedicated audience

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    congrats! I also adore this film.

  • Darkos8 months ago

    That was great Congratulations to You!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Congrats!

  • Congratulations Rebekah! 🌈✨🌈✨🌈✨

  • S. C. Almanzar8 months ago

    Congrats!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Wonderful critique!!!

  • I've never watched this movie before. Excellent review!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.