Critique logo

The Iron Giant

"You stay. I go. No following."

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read

Hogarth befriends a metal-eating war robot, teaching him language, purpose, goodness. Father’s lessons manifested. Government fights for the “greater good;” paranoid weapons race. One power-crazed agent investigates the wrong angle.

BOOM.

Iceland calls…

                                         

Disney’s clueless. This masterpiece: half budget, half time. Nuanced, honest storytelling. Nobody wants that anymore.

                

ThemeEssay

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • M. Lee5 months ago

    Iron giant is one of my favorite “kid” movies & you summed this movie up nicely. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This is brilliant, Mackenzie. Not that I expected any less when clicking on this. Well done!

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    "Superman" 😭 My favourite animated film ever.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    I love that you reviewed this movie, just a timeless classic that doesn't get any recognition at all! Your last two lines hit me so hard "Nuanced, honest storytelling. Nobody wants that anymore.".... The truth sure does sting!

  • Mesh Toraskar11 months ago

    Thank you for bringing attention to one of my absolute favourite films. Iron Giant is undeniably Vin Diesel's greatest performance ever!! I was 7 when I first saw this and a single year hasn't gone by when I didn't rewatch it. As you aptly called it, nuanced and honest in it's storytelling. That ending just breaks me a little every time I watch it in the best way possible. "Hogarth befriends a metal-eating war robot, teaching him language, purpose, & goodness. Father’s lessons manifested." You pack so much in these two sentences. Nicely done. I am aware of the director's open remarks about how this was done with a budget, third of that of a Disney film at the time and half the production schedule and it's so important to highlight that! Brad Bird also mentioned that the question which prompted 'The Iron Giant' was “What if a gun had a soul?” And I believe the movie went on to answer that for us - it wouldn’t be a gun anymore.

  • Not "nobody". It'll probably always be in my library.

  • Ahhh, the 'greater good'! I have no idea why I've not watched this yet. I have to watch this!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Excellent critique- especially the ‘boom’

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Excellent. One of the few animated films to make me cry 😢

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.