Critique logo

Schismitism

A term used to describe the frustrating feeling of being unable to remember something despite trying hard to recall it.

By Adriana S.Published 8 months ago 1 min read

As I walked down the street, the autumn leaves enveloped me in beautiful shades of burnt umber, crimson, and rust. I couldn't resist indulging in a latte at my favorite coffee shop, enjoying the beauty of the season. As I stood in line, my eyes wandered over to the barista, with his tall stature, twinkling eyes, and lustrous tawny hair. I found myself drawn to him, and we struck up a conversation as he prepared my drink, his sense of humor making me chuckle. As he handed me my latte and called out my name, "Delilah," I felt a pang of disappointment that he had to get back to work.

As I returned home, I found myself struggling with the urge to look him up on social media. I wanted to get to know him better and find out if he was single, but try as I might, I couldn't recall his name. Schismitism struck, that frustrating feeling of being unable to remember something. I was so captivated by our conversation at the coffee shop that I couldn't even recall his name. The more I tried to remember, the more it slipped away, like the leaves falling from the trees.

I realized that sometimes it's better to have a genuine conversation with someone to learn more about them instead of relying on social media. The feeling of schismitism stayed with me, reminding me to talk to him again to learn his name instead of stalking him on social media.

Character Development

About the Creator

Adriana S.

I love to indulge in art and poetry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Test7 months ago

    What a beautiful moment of connection amid the autumn hues! It's fascinating how encounters can linger in our minds, leaving us with a sense of curiosity and intrigue

ASWritten by Adriana S.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.