Critique logo

LIZZIE BORDEN

Lizzie Borden took an axe

By Novel AllenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read

"Lizzie Borden took an axe,

gave her mother forty whacks,

when she saw what she had done,

she gave her father forty-one"

True story of Lizzie Borden, domineering father, evil stepmother. Accused of the axe murders of father and stepmother in Fall River, Massachusetts, in 1892.

Lizzie outsmarts all..Is acquitted.

NonfictionMovie

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    What a swell gal :)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    I love what you did with this story and how you formatted it so perfectly into a poem! Such a clever way to present such a gripping story! Loved it!

  • I need to read the story!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Is this actually based on a true story!! Sheesh?? 😮 I haven’t seen any of these but a great critique. The one I want to see as Christina Ricci in it!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji11 months ago

    Brilliant review

  • Hahahahahahaha I love her so much! I've heard of her before and she's my role model!

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    Yay Lizzie. Horrible parents need an axe. I relate! Lol. Wonderfully written.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Omg 😱 How tragic... your critique was phenomenal No! Brilliant I tell ya just Brilliant!

  • There was no way I could pass up reading this once I saw the title. What a way to sum of the result of 40 whacks in 50 words.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Wow, don’t mess with Lizzie.

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Your title caught my attention as my step-father-in-law is related to the Borden's. I actually have some antique books from the turn of the century he gifted me with her relatives' names inscribed in their front covers... Lovely review :)

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.