Critique logo

Just Coffee

a monologue

By Hector GonzalezPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
1
Just Coffee
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

INT. COFFEE SHOP - MORNING

[The customer enters the coffee shop from the pouring rain. He dries off his umbrella and walks to the counter where he is met by a beautifully quirky barista. He is awestruck by her beauty.]

BARISTA

(She smiles widely at CUSTOMER)

Hello! How are you today?

CUSTOMER

Hi! I'm...I'm great! Um... how are you?

BARISTA

What?

CUSTOMER

Um. I said how are you?

BARISTA

(Barista smiles and giggles)

Sorry, I just didn't expect...um yeah, um, I'm good! I'm great! Thanks for asking!

CUSTOMER

I'm glad!

BARISTA

(She notices a pin CUSTOMER is wearing)

Oh! I...I like your pin!

CUSTOMER

Oh, thank you! Yeah, it's one of my favorite...well, my favorite game. It's...I love it. Thanks!

BARISTA

(Meet cute complete, she smiles widely and stares into CUSTOMER's eyes)

So...what can I get you?

Lights come down. Spotlights on CUSTOMER and BARISTA standing in front of each other staring longingly into each other's eyes. CUSTOMER takes hold of her for a kiss and they freeze.

CUSTOMER (V.O.)

(CUSTOMER smiles longingly and stares back into her eyes)

Wow...I can see it. In an instant I can see my entire life like a faded dream coming back up from the depths of my mind to the forefront of my vision.

Every lyric that ever strummed the strings of my heart consolidated in...her. The future is fine. My soul is elated. She's coming home and I'm kissing the face of infinity.

Though it's the first time I've ever seen her, I know I've already seen her. Or I'm seeing something so profoundly familiar to me that it could only be described as a miracle.

I can see my stress melt away. What can't I face if she's in my life? What was it before her...life?

Don't let happy days pass you by, the song says, and now, I truly hear it.

I can see the first time I hold her. Her eyes staring into mine and the look of anticipation on her face, her lips gently parted as one arm takes her waist and the other gently grasps her back.

I can feel my heartbeat; I'm there now...then... Time stands still as every micromovement brings us closer to that moment. That moment memories are made of.

Did it stop? My heart? Am I dead, am I dreaming? Is this heaven? It certainly isn't hell.

Every nerve ending tingles at our connection like electricity. I'm hyperaware of even my clothes brushing against her.

Her smell...the smell of...love. It flows through my nostrils like warm cookies straight to my brain like heavy drugs. I can only assume, but if she is a drug, how could I ever say no. How could I ever overdose. Why would I ever come down?

The picoseconds draw our lips in the straightest line towards one another.

My soul, it swells. Grows too big for my body, spreads outwards. Reaching...reaching for her...joining with her...becoming one with her...

I wonder if this moment will stay. If the world ended just now it would be ok. If this is all life had to offer, then I will have found all life had to offer.

How heavy my heart, how light my soul. If I floated, she'd float away with me into eternity.

I'll give anything to keep this light. Though my eyes close; our mouths beginning to touch, I can still see her, clear as the day.

I see the peace on her face reflected in my own. My arms find their strength and pull her tighter.

"Don't let go you fool!" They yell at me. "Don't let go...Please...don't let go..."

Why would I? I see her...I'm seen by her. This is it. This is love at first sight, that stupid fairy tale...that true legend. It's real, and I was wrong...so wrong.

I know she sees it, too. I see it in her eyes as they open again to stare into mine. We'll never be alone again.

Never again. And yet, this thought.

"Please..."

"I can't...I can't."

"Please...don't...go."

I know if I do...if I let go...I'll never be happy again. The light in these eyes will dim; forever staring at their beautiful death.

My soul is gone. It's hers now.

"Please...don't come back."

"Please...stay with her. There's nothing left here for you."

"You belong to her, but I belong to another."

"Here I die...This is hell...I've never been so sure."

"If this is the last thing my soul sees I'll count myself blessed with such a bitter sweet end."

"I'll bear this eternity for your sake. Stay in heaven for mine."

[The lights come back up; the barista is waiting behind the counter and the smile fades from the customer's face leaving an empty dejected look.]

CUSTOMER

Um...coffee...please.

CUSTOMER (V.O.)

"Don't go..."

BARISTA

(Her smile fades as well noting something went wrong, but not knowing what.)

Just coffee?

CUSTOMER

(Nods solemnly staring blankly into her eyes, no expression on his face.)

Just coffee...

PlayScreenplayDialogue
1

About the Creator

Hector Gonzalez

I'm a creative writer. I don't blog or write op-eds. I talk about my perspectives on twitch as I write and I consolidate my most intricate feelings into poetic forms. I'm always open for meaningful conversation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Sad and beautiful... We let so many moments pass us by that we end up regretting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.