Critique logo

James Brown "Say it loud, I'm Black and I'm Proud"

One of his signature songs

By Novel AllenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read

The central progenitor of Funk Music, a major figure in 20th century music, James screams, gyrates, and will "Drop it like it's Hot" anytime.

"Say it loud. I'm Black and I'm proud

Some say we got a lot of Melanin"

"Godfather of Soul"

"Mr. Dynamite" and "Soul Brother No. 1"

Music

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Heyyy💯👍Accurate, This a Great one🎉❗

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    Growing up in Augusta, Georgia and being a musical soul myself, I can easily say James Brown was one of my mentors. His house was across the street from my middle school, Langford Jr. High. As part of his community service, he came and spoke to us about the dangers of drinking and drugs. During the Q&A I raised my hand. I asked if he had any advice for aspiring singers. He said: " You just find that thing that's only yours, baby, and don't let anyone take it out of you. Never give up." I will never forget it. I love that your writing wakes old memories like this! 💕

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Not heaps familiar with all his works, but I know he is a legend!! Excellent and infectious critique of the man! 😁👏

  • Yayyyyy, I got lots of melanin too! Loved this review!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji11 months ago

    Real music. The stuff that comes out now especially women rappers aggravate me

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Nice breakdown of the master's masterpiece!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Brilliant review, good luck in the challenge 😁

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This is great. You said so much with just a few words. Awesome stuff.

  • I had the honor of seeing him in concert and it was enlightening. I grew up seeing him in the later years of his life, but even to see him at the near end of journey, was awe-inspiring. You may also enjoy the following (knowing and loving a legend): https://vocal.media/beat/my-unforgettable-experiences-with-tony-bennett Thanks for sharing.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    I love it! That's my momma's song! 😊

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.