Critique logo

Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

A potentially biased critique

By Real PoeticPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
7
Photo taken by the author

The contents in this critique do not contain specific details that could spoil the show for those who plan to see it; however, it should compel you to go online and buy yourself a ticket. If not, then I’m not sure what’s wrong with you. You may want to consider consulting your doctor about that. After all, I’m only a writer. I’m not qualified to give medical advice, but you’re clearly crying out for help.

If you have seen the play before, I’d love to discuss your point of view and whether or not you agree or disagree with my thoughts in the comments section. I also welcome the haters who refuse to see it at all to explain why. Who hurt you?

Photo taken by the author

Now that that’s out of the way, imagine that I am waving my magic wand and every light in the room suddenly goes out. Fear creeps up but soon evaporates when the lights turn back on. An ethereal energy that brings a comforting feeling of familiarity and peace lingers in the air. This is what it felt like to sit in my seat on the balcony.

From the second I stepped my size seven foot inside of Lyric Theatre, Hogwarts came alive. The experience itself leading up to the opening scene was awesome; it was like I had finally received my letter to attend the school. The young child inside of me was immediately drawn into J.K. Rolling’s magical world.

I snuck a picture with my phone right before powering it off to capture my view of the stage. I take theatre etiquette very seriously. I cannot stand when people break my concentration with the sound of their devices. This is directed at the lady who’s phone rang towards the end of the first act.

Photo taken by the author

Look, I did mention this review could be biased. I’ll try my best to be as unbiased as I can, but Harry Potter is one of the greatest series ever written. To watch it live on broadway was a dream come true. I’m still processing the level of genius that I witnessed.

Harry Potter is being played by Steve Haggard. His acting was incredible and believable, considering he has big shoes to fill. I genuinely bought that he was Harry. I did question if he was a good fit for the role in the beginning, but I was sold that he was a perfect match by the end of the play.

Erik Christopher Peterson, the actor playing Scorpius Malfoy, brought forth a relatable personality and anxiousness that captured everyone’s attention during the entire performance.

Photo taken by the author

There were unexpected moments of laughter and heartache that felt so real between the characters.

The assistance of the special effects, set design, and movements made Harry Potter and the Cursed Child a must see. I know it took months of rehearsing, building, and planning, but they made it look so effortless.

The effects intensified the danger and bridged the separation between the actors on stage and the audience. They pulled off people flying and floating objects in a way that was so convincing. A part of me really wanted to believe it was truly magic. The set designer and movement director really did a fabulous job making the show flow smoothly.

Movement Director: The person that helps actors tell the story using their body language, breaths, and movements. It is quite similar to a choreographer.

Photo taken by the author

Plays can easily lose my focus when switching to another scenario, but the transitions were so well done. It should be noted that the scene changes were very fluid. There was not a time that I questioned the believability of the story.

Lastly, Harry’s son, Albus, is my least favorite part about the show. His character is a brat that doesn’t appreciate his father until he needs him to save his ass. He’s definitely a cursed child. I mean no disrespect to the actor that is playing Albus. It’s not his fault that his character’s traits lack likability. Despite disliking Albus, I had a good time, and I would pay to see it again.

Photo taken by the author

Play
7

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Sounds terrific. ✨ I’d really like to see this one day. A great review of the show. Thanks for sharing it and so glad you enjoyed!! ☺️

  • Great article ♥️👌💯I haven't seen the play, but this stands Incredibly 👍 reviewed❗

  • I've never watched the play but I've read the script or whatever it's called, lol. Many people didn't like it but it wasn't as bad as they painted it to be. I actually enjoyed the story!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great review! I’ll go see it now!

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    Im writing a piece about Harry Potter too right now ❤️ I agree the play was executed amazingly. So magical. I did, however, find the story a little confusing at times, lol. Not sure I agree about Albus – they didn’t do a great job of showing (imo) Harry’s shortcomings as a father in the first place, so i feel like his character wasn’t given a fair chance. For me the story doesnt hold a candle to Harry Potter – still a huge privilege to reenter the world tho ❤️✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.