Critique logo

Don't Hug Me I'm Scared

A Critique on the infamous online Youtube series

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 11 months ago β€’ Updated 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Duck, Red Guy and Yellow in a car

We are thrown into a surreal and disjointed reality with a group of close friends who live together who are playing house. Trauma and darkness lies underneath their colorful world, with secrets and lies strewn about in catchy songs that mirror our fixation on media to educate and amuse us.

ThemeCharacter Development

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    WOW! This sounds interesting!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    This looks all kinds of creepy Melissa, is it? πŸ˜† A terrific and intriguing critique. ☺️

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    I am so glad you did DHMIS! It's so good and so DARK! I still listen to the musical numbers! Green is not a creative colour.

  • Oooo, your review made me so intrigued about this show! I'll have to check it out!

  • Isn't all of reality somewhat surreal & disjointed? Or is it just mine?

  • Lightning Bolt11 months ago

    I'll put this on my "Must Watch" list!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well, I hadn't watched it. Now I have. Definitely an accurate review.

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Love this! Super nostalgic for me :)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Haven't seen this, but your review make me curious to watch. Well done.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I loved those videos so much! They are supposed to be making a comeback... ;) What's your favourite idea?

  • Mother Combs11 months ago

    Never heard if this. Interesting piece. Thanks for sharing

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    This is very interesting, going to look this up. Thank you for introducing me to something new πŸ₯°

  • Absolutely incredible and I agree with the message FriendπŸ«ΆπŸΎπŸ€©πŸ’―πŸ—£οΈπŸ“β€ΌοΈ

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.