Critique logo

Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood

how a play fixes things

By Forest GreenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood
Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

In this adaptation from 2002, New York based playwright and soon to be marred Sidda Walker is given a interview about her inspirations, which she states an very difficult upbringing in Louisiana. When her mother Vivi founds out about the interview she is livid and cuts Sidda out of her will and Sidda in turn does not invite her to her upcoming wedding. The whole fight and separation does not sit well with Vivi's three childhood friends who then take Sidda from New York and back to Louisiana. While there, they explain to why Vivi was the way she was and they all hope for a reconciliation before the wedding.

MovieEssay
3

About the Creator

Forest Green

Hi. I am a writer with some years of experiences, although I am still working out the progress in my work. I make different types of stories that I hope many will enjoy. I also appreciate tips, and would like my stories should be noticed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    I've not watched this but it sounds very intriguing! Excellent review!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    🖤

  • Kindred Soul6 months ago

    I watched the movie before, and I've always dreamed of having good friends/sisters like them. That kind of bond is hard to find.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.