Critique logo

Critiquing Myself

Revisiting a Story from the Archives

By Emma Kate ColemanPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
5
By Emma Kate Coleman (August 30, 2023)

I don’t have a thick skin. Journalists are supposed to. But I don’t. I don't handle criticism well.

So, instead of criticizing someone else and hurting their feelings in a way that I know I don’t enjoy, I thought I’d start with myself. Let me thicken my own skin.

Here’s a short story I wrote as a senior in high school. Our literary magazine published it, but I'm having second thoughts about how proud I am of it.

It’s called “Tasting Autumn.”

The lights in my house are dimmed, all a soft yellow. I’m sitting at my kitchen table, eating a sausage and sauerkraut sandwich. It tastes like Germany, or at least that is what my parents tell me.

Outside, past the long red curtains and window panes, wind shakes the trees. Through the oncoming pale light of the moon, just barely a white sliver in a navy sky, I see weak yellow leaves drift to the ground. They remind me of fairies’ wings, quiet and delicate. The cold has curled their edges, and they begin to crinkle under squirrels’ feet.

I finish my sandwich and lick the warm grease from my fingers. I hear the back door slam. Dad is home. In the moments that the door swayed open, I could hear the crickets and cicadas outside on the lawn, and I could picture the moths fluttering desperately around the golden porch light.

Dad clomps up the stairs and says hello when he sees me at the table. He forgot to shave this morning, I think. Some whiskers on his face are turning gray, and the hair on the crown of his head is starting to disappear. His smile is the same, though. His brown-green eyes still crinkle. Like leaves. Under squirrels’ feet.

The biggest problem I have with this piece is its voice. Yes, it’s mine, but the use of first person seems to get in the way of the images.

Look at this: “I see weak yellow leaves drift to the ground.”

Wouldn’t it be more powerful like this? “Weak yellow leaves drift to the ground.”

That is the difference between telling your reader something and showing your reader something. By removing yourself as the speaker, the images can speak for themselves.

Let’s try another one: “I finish my sandwich and lick the warm grease from my fingers. I hear the back door slam.”

This way, the sandwich, the grease and the back door are front and center: “The last crumbs of sourdough slip behind my lips and grease saturates my fingertips. The back door slams.”

There are a couple of things I love about this piece. The images, while not exactly shared eloquently and efficiently, are still beautiful and take me back to that kitchen table. And I get a kick out of the circle back to leaves under squirrels’ feet.

“Tasting Autumn” is about six years old now. It shows me that I’ve grown as a creative writer quite a bit, despite not studying it in college.

My journalism classes taught me the importance of writing with rhythm. When your words carry a beat, they’re easier for your readers to understand.

This sentence doesn’t flow easily: “In the moments that the door swayed open, I could hear the crickets and cicadas outside on the lawn, and I could picture the moths fluttering desperately around the golden porch light.”

Eliminating some words helps: “When the door was open, crickets and cicadas screeched on the lawn, and I imagined moths fluttering desperately around the golden porch light.”

I’ve found that the simpler a sentence is, the better. But that said, I’ve got plenty of room to grow. And that’s just fine.

:)

Revision
5

About the Creator

Emma Kate Coleman

An overworked hard news journalist seeking creativity and community. Lover of dogs, antique stores and homemade bread. Thrift queen and photography peasant. Happy to be here. :)

"Write hard and clear about what hurts." - Ernest Hemingway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    This is Great❤️😉👌💯I was thinking of a Critique of one of mine as well…

  • Gigi Gibson8 months ago

    Excellent story and revisions Emma! The only thing that I’d change is your tense in the last example. You wrote: “When the door was open, crickets and cicadas screeched on the lawn, and I imagined moths fluttering desperately around the golden porch light.” To make it present tense like the rest of your story it might read… “ Through the open door crickets and cicadas screech on the lawn, and moths flutter desperately around the golden porch light.” Other than that, your style of writing is captivating. It holds the reader’s (my) attention through the whole piece of work. Don’t be too hard on yourself. You’re a good writer. 🤗

  • Gerard DiLeo8 months ago

    You may be wrong. First-person may be appropriate because it is a first-person experience. You, your Dad, and the world that interfaces the both of you simultaneously. Revisit it again from the perspective of two people connecting in the same world.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I love this! I read the story, it was great. I thought "what would I criticise?" Then I read your criticism and it made it so much better! I put out a plea for criticism last week, for pieces I was pleased with, but was also confident were not good enough. I am not a good critic, and I am certainly not a good critic of my own work, but perhaps I need to try harder.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.