Critique logo

Catcher in the Rye? More Like Poop Flung from on High

(Once more, with feeling)

By Brent TharpPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
"Hi! Do you have a moment to learn about my lord and savior, J. D. Salinger, and his wondrous wonder of wonderment, CATCHER IN THE RYE? Here's a free copy!"

Except for the underlying theme of rebellion against authority, Catcher in the Rye offers little to warrant its nearly universal star status. It mercilessly assaults readers with melodrama, whining, and endless, pathetic attempts at cleverness. Accurately portraying its fundamental horribleness would take more words than comprised in the book itself.

FictionNovel
Like

About the Creator

Brent Tharp

I edit STEM books. I like writing, cats, and wine, though not necessarily in that order.

I was raised by wolves in a small forest somewhere in Middle America.

Why don't ketchup bottles squirt correctly? All or nothing seems grifty to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    But how do you really feel? 🤔 I agree with some of your points, but I still think it's a classic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.