Critique logo

Candide

A #BookReviewHaiku / 50-word review of Voltaire's book

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
13
Frontispiece of Voltaire's "Candide, or Optimism." (1759) - Source: Wikimedia Commons

Candide’s love for Cunégonde leads to his exile. What ensues is a journey around the world. Expect severe hardships, enlightening experiences, and a “happy” ending...

Candide is a delightfully sarcastic story that takes a scathing, insightful, and timeless look at the human condition.

In the garden:

neglecting optimism

over cultivation.

ThemeNovelFiction
13

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Finely done, Cendrine. Your haiku hits so clearly the point Voltaire was trying to make, I think!

  • Antoinette L Brey8 months ago

    Good review, sounds like a great story

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Magnificent!!! Love this, Cendrine!!!❤️❤️💕

  • I love Candide!! Great review :)

  • I've never read this before. I loved your review and Haiku!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    I've never read Voltaire although I think that I may have Candide in my book collection somewhere. I like your choices for your critiques. Keep them coming!

  • Natalie Wilkinson9 months ago

    How amazing, we just went to the opera. Now I need to read the book!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I love the book, and I think we all should appreciate it as much as you have!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I've heard a little about the author but not his books. You have piqued my interest however. I may have to find a copy (in english) at some point

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I love how you are doing your critiques!!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.