Confessions logo

Youth camp of southwest Ohio

If they still do it it is located in Morrow, Ohio

By Angelina F. ThomasPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Youth camp of southwest Ohio
Photo by Jay Gajjar on Unsplash

I remember as a teenager I would enjoy going to this southern youth camp in morrow Ohio. At commissary they had some delicious nacho's with warm cheese, always the perfect cheddar cheese warmed up on the side of the tortilla chips.

I wish I knew where they had got their cheese and chips, just because it was too scrumptious, like what company sold them that delicious product I surely would love to know.

The sermon's were lovely. They had a pool to swim in and it was fun fun fun all day, all types of games with water balloons etc. Too fun, my favorite times of all was breakfast, lunch, dinner, and swimming in the pool. I wish I was swimming right now.

I loved it when I had money for the commissary, they called it the canteen. Some times I would go for the candies called gusher's, or a bag of nacho chips, but my favorite was the warm cheddar cheese and nacho's. I loved when we ate cheesy eggs and grits with buttered toast for breakfast at youth camp. Some times the counselors had me enjoy coffee or hot cocoa. I loved it at that youth camp.

I wish I could work there. I remember I ate slim Jim's from the canteen too but nothing they served to hungry horny teenagers compared to their nacho's with cheese.

I loved it when it was perfectly sunny at the pool eating rice crispy treats after sneaking them to the pool area. They wanted to avoid ants so we would sneak snacks and properly dispose of the wrapper and what we were unable to finish. I want to hit the pool right now on everything I love.

I am getting hungry at the moment reminiscing about the nacho's with cheese back in the day that I loved to enjoy with jalapenos too sometimes at the southern Ohio christian youth camp back when I was a child while becoming a young woman. I had my first feeling of freedom at this youth camp. I was supposed to be at grandma's but I was at camp when it happened.

I went off of the grounds by myself therefore I could get some alone time and I did not get caught. I enjoyed prayer time, worship service was nice, I loved to sing back then and I still do it sometimes. At youth camp I took long hot showers while singing in it, Gospel songs of course. Such as "this little light of mine" or "yes Jesus loves me" I had a freaking ball at the summer camp. I never wanted to leave youth camp because life at the foster home was hell most of the time you know constant aggravation which was unnecessary and severely uncomfortable. I wish I was eating those nacho's and cheese right now working part time as a youth camp counselor keeping an eye on the children, praying with them, crying with them, and uplifting them and making them feel loved and edified.

I would love to eat the same nacho's with cheese at the same camp in Morrow, Ohio all the while chilling with the kiddies showing them what a real mentor is. I imagined me as a counselor while being a kid at the camp, I would love to practice horseback riding and leading the horse while the kid's enjoy, including time with the horses in the stalls shoveling, cleaning out their temporary homes while making sure they are sufficiently fed and hydrated. I never condone violence or starving animals or bad stuff in general. I miss them nacho's with cheese on those cool breezy summer nights.

By: Angelina

Enjoy with delight. This is one of my best personal creations.

Thank you for reading.

Teenage years
Like

About the Creator

Angelina F. Thomas

I am a very beautiful mother of mixed daughters with expensive taste. I hope and pray to my Abba father that my wishful thinking and my ability to dream huge truly pays off. So be it. Amen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.