Confessions logo

Wings

It is easier to be a fairy-wizard than have a corporate job.

By Caroline MckennaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

At 6 years old, I wanted to be a fairy-wizard. I even had my babysitter borrow a spells and potions book from the library to have her turn me into a fairy. My wings are supposed to sprout at 20. I am currently 19 and nothing has happened yet, so safe to say that was fake.

At 10, I wanted to be a veterinarian. When I was 12, we put my dog down. I never considered being a veterinarian again. When I was 14, I wanted to be a photographer. My older sister’s friend wanted to be one, and I wanted to be just like her. Then I googled the salary, plus camera costs, plus editing software. I have no regrets about leaving that for her, especially when she is one of those people you regret ever admiring.

At 15, I wanted to be an author, specifically a novelist or a poet. I hate poetry. Rhyming is hard. I feel like I do not know enough words to be successful at sharing how I feel.

Then I decided I wanted to go into the FBI. I wanted to be like Penelope Garcia, from the show Criminal Minds. My mom recommended forensic accounting. But I hate math. And death grosses me out. Especially handling the family of the deceased.

When I was 16, I wanted to be an English as a second language teacher. I was studying Spanish and liked learning about other cultures. But I do not like kids enough to teach them. I am scared about moving away and getting stuck in another country. I do not want to be that far from my family.

At 17, I had a conversation with my physical therapist and his student, a physical therapist assistant student from the community college. I really did not know what I wanted in life at that point, but I liked anatomy and I wanted to help people, so being a PTA did not seem like a bad idea.

I was 18 when I got into the program. I was 19 when I quit.

I was 14 when I sprained my ankle. I had surgery at 15. I was discharged from physical therapy at 16. I went back at 17. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia at 18. My fingers are flexible. I can do more than touch toes, putting my hands flat on the ground. My elbows hyperextend. If I cross my arms behind my back, my right shoulder will pop out. I can no longer stand for long period of time. I may have a connective tissue disorder, but I would not know, no one will test me for it.

I quit a PTA program at 19 because I cannot sleep. I am in too much pain to continue in a program in which I never get a break. I messed my elbow up during a practical at school. It never would have happened to someone else. I just do not have control over my body anymore.

I wanted to help people who could not advocate for themselves, like I could not advocate for myself. But I cannot do that anymore.

Now I do not know what I want to do. I like anatomy. I still like photography. I like writing and have learned how to express my feelings. I have learned how to interact with people and love them.

But I am tired, and I hurt. Wings can grow in nine months, right?

Teenage years
Like

About the Creator

Caroline Mckenna

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.