Confessions logo

Why Is It So Hard To Communicate In My Marriage?

A Story About Communication And Its Challenges

By Jamie ColemanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Why Is It So Hard To Communicate In My Marriage?
Photo by M. on Unsplash

My husband and I have been married now for almost 3 years. God knows I love him with all of my heart, mind, body and soul. We've been together on and off for the last 16 years. We were high school sweethearts and have been best friends since we were kids. Even though we've went through ups and downs during our relationship in the past and now, we were always able to talk and communicate with no problem--until now. I openly communicate with him about what I go through from day to day, and he does the same with me. Sometimes, he can be understanding and sweet when we talk, which made me fall in love with him in the first place. As of lately, however, communicating with him feels as if I'm talking to a brick wall. There are times when I can't even get a word out without him cutting me off or coming up with an instant solution to what we talk about. I never thought communication in my marriage would be so difficult. You would think 2 people who have been best friends since childhood would be able to talk the way they used to. Sometimes, I get this lingering feeling in the back of my mind, wondering if our marriage is what changed the shift in our communication. I don't really know, but I need to find out.

Is there really an easier way to communicate with your spouse? Is counseling a better solution? We've been to a few counseling sessions with our church pastors since being married. The sessions would start out great, each of us getting our feelings out in the open. We would then talk about finding solutions to our issues. By the end of our sessions, everything seemed fine for a little while. Next thing you know, not even 24 hours later, we would be right back to talking over each other, as well arguing and blowing up at each other. It was insane and it was sometimes over the stupidest things. What makes this situation even worse is that we never argued until we got married. We never had a single disagreement, misunderstanding or anything like that. We would talk so openly and naturally with no problem. We laughed, enjoyed joking with each other and sometimes even cried together after we would communicate. This was an all-the-time thing, but not so much now. It's not making any sense to me whatsover, especially being that I'm married to my best friend.

I really want to work on our communication, but it seems so difficult. I know that nothing in marriage is easy and it takes a lot of work. But with a relationship like ours, this shouldn't be so freaking hard. Neither one of us should ever be talking over each other or not listening to the other when speaking. We shouldn't have to resort to getting angry or shouting at each other when we have a disagreement. As I mentioned before, this has never happened in the past. There has got to be a better way than what we're doing now because it's not working. Sometimes, I cry myself to sleep because I have no idea how it got to this point. How could someone that I love so much be so hard to communicate with? Is there something that I did or said wrong? Is there something I missed in his behavior or mine? I have all these questions in my mind, but no answers. It's driving me crazy. It feels like I'm talking to a complete stranger and not my husband and best friend. All I know is that I have to find a way to resolve our communication issues before this gets any worse. We've come too far to give up and throw in the towel. My husband is the one true love of my life and I don't want our marriage to end over this. We've been through so much and gotten past a lot of things in our relationship. The only thing we need to get through now is this barrier in our communication. If we can do that, then I know for sure that our love and marriage can survive anything.

Dating
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.