Confessions logo

Why I Said Goodbye To Medium

Time to write on vocal instead of medium

By David AnejaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why I Said Goodbye To Medium
Photo by Leon Seibert on Unsplash

So today is my 1st day on Vocal. I have heard about this from the medium itself. I don't know what to write here, saying, but yaa, it always feels good to try something new!

So, first of all, I would like to share my reason why I'm here today. I got to know recently that medium doesn't allow Indian users to enrol in medium partner programmes. When I got this info, I was like, WTF!

Most of its users are from India, and we are contributing too much to that platform, and they are not allowing us to earn from it. It feels so bad that more than 30% of the readers are from India, and still, they don't have any news or updates about the same.

No matter how big your platform is, you will fail later if you do not provide what your audience is looking for. If you are an Indian like me and reading this, let everyone know by commenting below and sharing your views.

Sometimes I ask myself which platform would be the best to write content and earn from it. Many names come to my mind, but as you know, every platform has its advantages & disadvantages. Recently I started to place gigs on Fiverr and Upwork. If you are using both of these platforms, you might be knowing how difficult it is to start on these platforms. So initially, it's challenging to get a start on any platform, but once you are on it, there is no look back.

I always have dreamed of writing on some large platform and want to earn from it. I have started one blog also with the name Blogreaders India. It is working pretty well now but cannot monetize it because of Google Adsense policy and some unknown errors as they don't state clearly in the e-mail.

I have written over 85 articles regarding movies, Travel, Health and Tech. I want to write, write and write. I didn't think of any particular niche at that time, frankly saying! But now, it feels like I should get paid for my hard work.

Starting 2-3 months was quite exciting and fun after blog writing, but everything faded later. When you seek results and expect more than your expectations, nothing comes out. Daydreaming affected me way too much. When you daydream, everything feels amazing.

You are just lost in your world and happy about creating more and more memories. Daydreaming is a trap. I warn you to not fall into it. It erases your creativity and consistency in doing the work you are doing. Well, sometimes it's good, but inside knows very well how much you are working for it.

So now the question is how you can monetize your skills or choose a good platform for writing.

As in 2021, its too much competition in this field as every high school pass-out consider him/herself a writer. In the past few months, I have learned through writing that it's not everyone's cup of tea. Writing needs dedication and consistency. You need to feel the audience what they want to read. You should know the art to make them think about things through your words. Your words should have the intensity and power to get a hold of the page for 2 minutes without quitting the page. Your mind and hands should work equally. If you can do this, congratulations, you are a professional content writer now. You earned a appreciation badge from my side already.

So before choosing any platform for trying your new skill, make sure to polish your skills and then apply for the monetization or projects through cold calling or bidding for better and ever-lasting reviews.

I guess it's enough now, and I promise to meet you soon with another short writing here. Till then, stay healthy, stay fit and take care of yourself and your family.

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

David Aneja

I am a full time Digital Marketer, currently living in Chandigarh, India. A Passionate traveler, reader and now writer. Love talking about different subjects like Movies, Travel, Tech, food & Hygiene, Finance.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.