Confessions logo

When I don't want to write

Facing the empty page

By Carol DriscollPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3

This is not a how-to article. In Those articles, the writer defines a problem and then provides a series of steps to solve the problem. I have a recurring problem. The issue for me is my resistance to writing, an overall feeling of dread and heaviness every time I sit down and try to transform a nebulous idea into printable prose. There is a reluctance to begin the process and a hesitancy to follow through on what I think are the vague ideas and notions I have of what I want to write about. I want to write, but I don’t want the burden of what, for me, is the slow, laborious process of wrangling words into a readable shape. I drag my feet, I procrastinate, I dawdle; knowing that this avoidance is a waste of time. Also, it delays the satisfying feeling of finishing a piece of writing. Dorothy Parker once quipped, “I hate writing, I love having written”. Amen.

Sometimes I torture myself with the idea that successful writers approach the keyboard with zest, purpose, and utter confidence, but I really think this ambivalence is common to most writers to some degree. Finally, though, I just have to pull myself out of inertia and into action and do the thing I don’t want to do.

“Just do it.” Nike

I know I’m quoting a shoe company here, but sitting down in front of a computer and opening a blank document is just as daunting as pulling on a pair of sneakers to run. (not that I know anything about that). Writing is a workout and starting is the hardest part. But the blinking cursor bullies you into action. You have to write something, anything so I always start with a title. I usually change the title several times over the course of writing because the article will change from what I thought it would be into what it will become after I give it my full attention. Once the title is written, it looks silly up there floating over all that blank space like a flag without a country. So I begin.

At this point, my jaw unclenches a bit because at least I’ve gone from murky thoughts about what I would write to the reality of producing text. This is the first draft, and as one sentence follows another, I’m calmed by the thought that I can change, move or delete any of them, and I usually do. This process of tinkering and refining is the essence of writing so why do I always forget that before I begin? Before I start; why do I stall?

Now that I’m writing, words and phrases pop into my mind that hadn’t occurred to me while I was mulling the idea over and thinking it was half-baked and flimsy. For me, the activity is slow. I stare into space a lot seemingly thinking of nothing. My guess is that my subconscious mind is supplying me with all the inspiration I was suppressing while I was in my pre-writing doldrums.

Now my shoulders are back down where my shoulders should be. I’m starting to see some structure in the piece and I freely cut and paste, delete here, expand there until there’s an identifiable form. (at least to me). When I am at this point in the writing, I am committed to finishing and just as reluctant to stop as I was to start. I remember that I like this organizing and reshuffling and that I will find an ending, do a final edit, and spellcheck. The process isn’t always this consistent. Sometimes I do abandon the idea because it isn’t workable and it doesn’t flow, but absolutely nothing happens until I trust myself to begin.

Workplace
3

About the Creator

Carol Driscoll

Carol is a freelance writer, compulsive reader, and somewhat sociable introvert.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kylara2 years ago

    I can completely relate to that! Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.