Confessions logo

Tip Sharing?

what is it? and why it doesn't work.

By Jehrod Rose AlainPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Tip Sharing?
Photo by Nick Karvounis on Unsplash

I have spent the last 11 years serving. My restaurant career started at Red Lobster where I worked for almost three years. I learned what courage looked like by making sure I kept biscuits coming when they were hot, kept cups filled to the brim and above all, keeping the customers happy.

Endless Shrimp? Seafood Fest? Darden Restaurant knew how to take care of its employees.

I loved serving. Let me take that back. I enjoyed it a great deal. I loved the competitive edge, the money just waiting to be made, the camaraderie, and yes, even the gossip and shenanigans that happened in the kitchen.

I was known to sing in the kitchen-- everything from R&B to "Amazing Grace".

I was known to dance in the kitchen.

The kitchen was our safe space and even when arguments happened, If you were smart, you knew how to resolve it and keep your job.

One particular individual and I always had words. Those who worked with me at the time know exactly who I'm talking about. ""JAYROCK", he would announce every single time. I said nothing. Sometimes would nod, but never in a way that said what's up.

Call me by my name.

This particular individual, let's just call him E always had something derogatory to say to me. It ranged from compliments, to pure D hatred. (what the hell does Pure D mean?)

I just kept right on. Now, don't think I didn't respond. I gave it back just like he gave it. And the most important thing, I knew how to ignore him.

What we had at Red Lobster was family and I'm glad to know that most people I worked with there have gone on to become entrepreneurs. Some of them married each other, and some have left the state and furthered their education to the point of obtaining PH.D's.

Although the culture wasn't ideal, at least they tried to improve. I became a Server Trainer and was proud my hard work was being noticed. This was 2010- 2012. I put my studies on hold at Tougaloo, so I can make some money. Do I regret it? NO.

Fast forward to almost 10 years later. I wanted fine dining experience, and although I knew I could serve with the best of them, I wanted to be sure before I moved to NYC.

Now ask anyone I've ever worked with, from restaurant to coffee shops, Jehrod loves to bring in the tip money. It's his superpower. He knows how to talk to people and get to know them-- not with the intention of getting a better tip, but to get to understand the world.

I cultivated many relationships through my years of serving, being a barista and working in the non-profit world.

Here are some of the lessons distilled in a fine 4 course meal.

TREAT YOUR WORKERS FAIRLY

Don't promise them heaven when you can't afford it. Let them make their own money and worry about taxes with their accountant, not yours. Any attempt to play them will come back to haunt you, trust.

DO NOT MAKE THEM DEEP CLEAN THE ESTABLISHMENT

Hire a cleaning service for that. This is not 1947. I know as a black person, nothing is more demeaning than being asked to clean the bathroom.

DO NOT TEXT, ADD THEM AS A FRIEND ON SOCIAL MEDIA

You cannot hide behind a phone these days. Everything can be screenshot, saved and printed out. Nothing, and I mean nothing is a truthful as the truth.

AND FINALLY, DESSERT.

Be nice. Not fake nice. But, really get to know your workers. Know their strengths, and know their weaknesses. They are watching and observing their leaders and If you are not careful, they can show up your shortcomings.

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Jehrod Rose Alain

Jehrod Rose Alain is a writer seeking to find meaning through poetry, yoga, kindness, mindfulness and the virtues of love. Based in Jackson, MS, he can often be found at his favorite coffee shops with a good book and a cappuccino.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.