Confessions logo

Think I had gotten Catfished Almost 20 years ago.

Thanks to Jan Sebastian and her story Catfish Loves Scams Are Rampant? for inspiring me to tell my story of when I got catfished.

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Think I had gotten Catfished Almost 20 years ago.
Photo by Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

Many may have checked out dating sites to see how things work there. When you are single you want to meet someone. Some people say they work. Well I know firsthand you have to be very careful, men and women get used by creeps every day. Lose money, lose family over the things they do for this creep. I saw an episode of Dr. Phil one time a lady sent so much money and she still thought it was love. It did not matter what people told her. I think she was still unsure after the show found this guy to be a fraud. 

My story begins maybe back when my son was around 5 I think. Maybe 2006. This is when Yahoo chat was big. Everyone who was anyone was meeting in the chat rooms with your webcams and chatting with anyone you meet. I had been on a little while and I met this man from Ghana. His name was Steve. He even claimed to be starting a non-profit thing for kids in his town. I saw it online with his name even. So I thought this was true. Back then, I did not know someone could make a fake page or site.

We talked for a few months then he asked if he could mail some things to me and ship them to him. His theory was it would cost more to send items straight to Africa from the company than mail them from my house. I thought there would be no issue with that. He even ordered flowers for me on a monthly flower club thing. Sent me a teapot all glass. Was so pretty. So I got gifts too. I did not mind. 

The first few boxes had his name on them. Then after a bit, they had different names with different credit card holders. I knew after the third different name. I had to report this. I knew if I did not report it, I could be an accessory to this crime. I had two children. I wanted NO part in his fraudulent credit cards.

The cops came to my house and looked at this recent big box of delivered items. Which was a couple of pairs of expensive high heel shoes. A couple of bottles of expensive wine. Some gold necklaces. Jerseys from I think football teams(American football). I can bet you would never guess what the local police did to me and the stolen items. 

NOTHING. They had me send the items back. They did not know how to handle the situation so they left all the stolen goods with me. I did try to send them back until I got yelled at by the wine company, they tried to blame it all on me, they were a small company. I was not about to take that stress from any other company. I did nothing wrong. So as bad as I honestly felt for the companies, the credit card holders. I was not doing that. The police should not be left the stolen items in my possession. After about 4 or 5 months I just ended up giving the things away. I did wait if the police came to pick them up. 

So that is my story. The man never spoke to me again. I honestly do not care. I just wanted to yell at him for putting me in that situation. I could have lost my children. 

Any women or men watch out for people like this. Meet them first. Spend time with them offline before you commit to any monetary or anything of that nature. 

©Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz 2022

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.