Confessions logo

The Things You Find in a Hotel Room

How an unexpected discovery turned me into an accidental collector

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
The Things You Find in a Hotel Room
Photo by Isaac Quesada on Unsplash

People leave some of the most unusual things behind in hotel rooms whether intentionally or unintentionally due to the rush of checking out.

The most unusual (I wouldn't doubt there are other experiences out there that would top mine!) thing I’ve found in a hotel room has led to me being a low key collector.

The Backstory

I was on a college trip to Washington D.C. courtesy of my college’s student government. Student government in college was like the student council in middle school / high school. We were in charge of and would oversee the student activities, events, and clubs that went on in college.

My fellow student government members and I had just checked into the hotel. In total, from what I can recall as this happened about 10 years ago, there were about fifteen students and two advisors. I do know that I roomed with two other girls.

We had just checked into our D.C. hotel room. I believe it was a Hilton. You know how one might mindlessly open cupboards, the fridge, and drawers when they are checking out a new place they are staying in? Well, I have a tendency to do that.

For reasons I am not really sure why, I checked under one of the two beds. I mean, who checks under the hotel bed, usually? Or maybe people do!

I noticed something under the darkness of beneath the bed. It looked to be a small Ziploc bag of something but what?

Curiosity got the better of me and I latched onto the bag and pulled it out.

At first glance it looked like a bag of coins.

“Hey, someone left money behind under the bed!”

My other two room mates were as equally surprised as I was.

I opened the bag and took out a few coins.

Wait a minute! These weren’t just coins. They were euros and a mix of other foreign coins!

author photo
author photo

author photo

I still have those foreign coins and in the same bag as I’ve found them too.

I know. I know. I probably should have turned them in at the front desk. Someone out there was missing some euros. Maybe someone international visiting the states. Who only knows where they came from?

At the time, I was just super excited with my unexpected discovery. I’ve always been fascinated by other countries and their culture. When would I ever come across any foreign coins? At least like that? The only foreign coins I ever come across are Canadian ones.

There are coins from the Philippines, India, Uganda … just all over!

I really should look into each one of them. As long as I’ve had them, I just never did. I wonder how much they’re worth? Just to satisfy curiosity. I wouldn’t ever sell them. I would love to learn more in general about each coin.

Ever since my accidental discovery, I’ve been keeping an eye out for any foreign coins. Now, I didn’t turn into a hardcore coin collector. I don’t go out deliberately looking for coins. It’s rather if I just happen to come across any.

This one appears to be a token for entertainment purposes only and not an actual currency.

author photo

Not 100% sure. I will definitely have to do further research with this and the rest of these coins. I would love to find out any more information about these coins.

The images on these coins can offer a glimpse into the culture of other countries.

I’m also curious, what is the most unusual thing you’ve found in a hotel room?

Secrets
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.